Lemelson-MIT Program
Who We Are Awards Outreach News
Invention Dimension Search Site Map Contact Us

Lemelson-MIT Awards for Invention and 
The Lemelson-MIT Awards honor both established and rising inventors for their ingenuity, creativity and contribution to invention and innovation. The awards recognize the profound impact that inventors can have on economic and social well-being.

The awards include the following:

The $500,000 Lemelson-MIT Prize honors outstanding mid-career inventors dedicated to improving our world through technological invention and innovation.
The Lemelson-MIT National Collegiate Student Prize Competition honors promising young inventors at colleges and universities around the U.S..

The Lemelson-MIT National Collegiate Student Prize Competition builds upon the legacy of the prestigious Lemelson-MIT Collegiate Student Prize, which has served as a springboard for collegiate inventors for nearly twenty years. The Lemelson-MIT Program has awarded a student prize at MIT since 1994 and additional prizes in collaboration with  Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute and the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign since 2007 and the California Institute of Technology from 2009-2011.
Lemelson-MIT InvenTeams are teams of high school students, teachers, and mentors that receive grants up to $10,000 each to invent technological solutions to real-world problems. InvenTeam grants support a non-competitive, team-based approach to foster inventiveness among high school students. The initiative evolved from the High School Invention Apprenticeship (1998 - 2002).

Bestowed annually, The Lemelson-MIT Awards were first presented in 1995. They are part of a comprehensive program administered by the Lemelson-MIT Program and established by the Lemelson Foundation to raise the stature of inventors and to inspire invention among young people. Find out about previous recipients at our Winners' Circle.

Historical Lemelson-MIT Awards

Awards programs evolve over time, and The Lemelson-MIT Program has adapted its awards to keep pace with the recognition prize ecosystem and societal changes. 2013 was the final year that the $100,000 Lemelson-MIT Award for Global Innovation (previously named the Award for Sustainability) was awarded. The Award for Global Innovation replaced the $100,000 Lemelson-MIT Lifetime Achievement Award, which was presented by the Lemelson-MIT Program from 1995-2006. The Lifetime Achievement Award recognized outstanding individuals whose pioneering spirit and inventiveness throughout their careers improved our society and inspired others.


2013 Award Winners
Angela Belcher
Rebecca Richards-Kortum and Maria Oden
Nikolai Begg
2012 Award Winners
Dr. Stephen Quake
Ashok Gadgil