Physics Spotlight
Michel BarangerMichel Baranger

Professor of Physics Emeritus Michel Baranger (1927-2014)

by Margaret Anderson, Anne Baranger and Harold Baranger
October 21, 2014

Michel Baranger died on October 1, 2014, at the age of 87, after a short illness, surrounded by his children and grandchildren.

The second of eight children, Baranger was a native of Le Mans, France. He graduated from the École Normale Supérieur in Paris in 1949, and earned a PhD in Physics from Cornell University in 1951. There he met and married fellow graduate student Elizabeth Urey. The young couple moved soon afterwards to the California Institute of Technology for post-graduate research in physics. [More…]