Physics in the News

Physics Spotlight

Study of MOOCs offers insights into online learner engagement and behavior

New report, based on four years of data from edX, represents one of the largest surveys of massive open online courses to date.

Office of Digital Learning
January 12, 2017

The following is a joint announcement from MIT and Harvard University.

In 2012, MIT and Harvard University launched open online courses on edX, a non-profit learning platform co-founded by the two institutions. Four years later, what have we learned about these online “classrooms” and the global community of learners who take them?

Today, a joint research team from MIT and Harvard announced the release of a comprehensive report on learner engagement and behavior in 290 massive open online courses (MOOCs).

Building on their prior work — 2014 and 2015 benchmark reports describing their first two years of open online courses — the team’s new study reviews four years of data and represents one of the largest surveys of MOOCs to date.
Read full story >>

2016 Physics in the News
Faculty Honors & Awards

2015 Physics in the News
Student Honors & Awards

2014 Physics in the News
In Remembrance

Archived Physics in the News