MIT Pappalardo Fellowships in Physics

Lists of Current, Incoming and Former Fellows

Pappalardo Fellows in Physics: 2019-2020 Academic Year

Denis Bandurin, 2018-2021 Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Zhen Bi, 2017-20 Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics
Anna-Christina Eilers, NASA Hubble Fellow 2019-2022; Pappalardo Fellow 2022-2024 Astronomy/Astrophysics
Lampros Lamprou, 2017-20 String Theory
Bernhard Mistlberger, 2018-2021 Theoretical Nuclear & Particle Physics
Hoi Chun "Adrian" Po, 2018-2021 Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics
Mallika Randeria, 2019-2022 Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Katelin Schutz, Pappalardo Fellow 2019-2022; 2023-2025; NASA Hubble Fellow 2020-2023 Theoretical Nuclear & Particle Physics/Theoretical Astrophysics
Steven Villanueva, 2018-2021 Theoretical Astrophysics

Pappalardo Fellows in Physics: 2020-2023 Incoming Fellows

Luke Caldwell, 2020-2023 Experimental Atomic Physics
Nicholas Kern, 2020-2023 Astronomy/Astrophysics
Aviram Uri, 2020-2023 Experimental Condensed Matter Physics



Pappalardo Fellows in Physics: Former Fellows

Mustafa Amin (2008-2011)
Assistant Professor of Physics and Astronomy,
Rice University
Theoretical Astrophysics
James Battat (2008-2011)
Associate Professor of Physics, Wellesley College
Experimental Astrophysics; 
Experimental Nuclear & Particle Physics
Guy Bunin (2013-2016)
Assistant Professor, Technion-Israel Institute of Technology
Biophysics & Non-equilibrium Statistical Mechanics
Rachel Carr (2016-2019)
Stanton Nuclear Security Fellow,
MIT Laboratory for Nuclear Security and Policy
Experimental Nuclear & Particle Physics
Paul Chesler (2009-2012)
Fellow, Black Hole Initiative, Harvard University
Nuclear and Particle Theory
Hugh Churchill (2012-2015)
Assistant Professor of Physics, University of Arkansas
Condensed Matter Experiment
Marija Drndic (2000-2003)
Fay R. and Eugene L. Langberg Professor of Physics, University of Pennsylvania
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics, Physical Chemistry, Nanoscience
Henriette Elvang (2005-2008)
Professor, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Theoretical Elementary Particle Physics
Richard Fletcher (2016-2019)
Assistant Professor of Physics, MIT
Atomic Physics
Michael (Misha) Fogler (2000-2003)
Professor, University of California, San Diego
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
Joshua Folk (2003-2004)
Associate Professor,
University of British Columbia, Vancouver
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Margaret Gardel (2004-2005)
Professor, University of Chicago
Experimental Biophysics
Julieta Gruszko (2017-2020)
Assistant Professor, University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Experimental Nuclear & Particle Physics
Jeff Gore (2007-2010)
Associate Professor of Physics, MIT
Ilya Gruzberg (2001-2002)
Professor, Ohio State University
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
Jeongwan Haah (2013-2016)
Researcher, Station Q, Microsoft Research
Quantum Information Theory
Matthew Headrick (2003-2006)
Associate Professor, Brandeis University
String Theory (quantum field theory, general relativity, geometry)
Or Hen (2015-2017)
Assistant Professor of Physics, MIT
Experimental Nuclear & Particle Physics
Walter Hofstetter (2001-2004)
Professor, Institut für Theoretische Physik, Johann Wolfgang Goethe-Universität, Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
David Hsieh (2009-2012)
Professor, California Institute of Technology
Condensed Matter Experiment
Nitya Kallivayalil (2007-2010)
Assistant Professor, University of Virginia
Experimental Astrophysics
David Kaplan (2004-2007)
Associate Professor, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Experimental Astrophysics
David Kielpinski (2002-2005)
Senior Machine Learning Engineer, Atomwise
Quantum Computing and Atomic Physics
Itamar Kimchi (2015-2018)
Postdoctoral Researcher, University of Colorado, Boulder
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
Kirill Korolev (2010-2013)
Assistant Professor, Boston University
Soft Condensed Matter Theory; Biophysics
Yoav Lahini (2012-2015)
Postdoctoral Fellow, Harvard University
Experimental Soft-Matter Theory
Benjamin Lane (2003-2006)
Group Leader, Draper Laboratory
Experimental Astrophysics
Lu Li (2008-2011)
Associate Professor, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Condensed Matter Experimental Physics
Laura Lopez (2011-2014)
Assistant Professor, Ohio State University
Experimental Astrophysics
Karen Michaeli (2010-2013)
Senior Scientist, Weizmann Institute of Science
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
Michael L. Miller (2005-2008)
General Partner, Liquid 2 Ventures, LLC
Experimental Particle Physics
Jocelyn Monroe (2006-2009)
Professor, University of London, Royal Holloway
Dark Matter and Neutrino Physics
Duff Neill (2012-2015)
Feynman Distinguished Postdoctoral Fellow,
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Quantum Field Theory
J. Michael Niczyporuk (2002-2004)
Chief Strategy Officer, USAA
Particle Theory
Yusuke Nishida (2008-2011)
Associate Professor, Tokyo Institute of Technology
Nuclear & Particle Theory
Carlos Nunez
Professor, Swansea University
Quantum Field Theory and String Theory
Robert Penna (2013-2016)
Research Scientist, Columbia University
Theoretical Astrophysics
Silviu Pufu (2011-2014)
Assistant Professor of Physics, Princeton University
String Theory
Katherine Rawlins (2003-2005)
Department Chair & Professor of Physics,
University of Alaska, Anchorage
Gravitational-wave Astronomy
Paola Rebusco (2007-2010)
Physics Lecturer & Academic Officer,
MIT Experimental Study Group
Plasma Astrophysics
Carl Rodriguez (2016-2019)
Harvard-Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics
Theoretical Astrophysics
Benjamin Safdi (2014-2017)
Assistant Professor, University of Michigan Ann-Arbor
Theoretical High Energy Physics
Gabriella Sciolla (2002–2003)
Professor of Physics, Brandeis University
Experimental High Energy Physics
Robert Simcoe (2003-2006)
Francis L. Friedman Professor of Physics, MIT
Experimental Astrophysics
Inti Sodemann Villadiego (2014-2017)
Research Group Leader, Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems
Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics
Marin Soljačić (2000-2003)
Professor of Physics, MIT
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
Joshua Spitz (2011-2014)
Norman M. Leff Assistant Professor of Physics,
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Experimental Nuclear and Particle Physics
Meng Su (2012-2015)
Associate Professor, The University of Hong Kong
Theoretical Astrophysics
Jacob M. Taylor (2006-2009)
Adjunct Associate Professor, Joint Quantum Institute, University of Maryland
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
David Tong (2001-2004)
Professor of Theoretical Physics and Fellow of Trinity College, University of Cambridge
Quantum Field Theory, String Theory, Solitons, Cosmology
Arpita Upadhyaya (2002-2005)
Associate Professor of Physics, University of Maryland
Simona Vegetti (2010-2013)
Research Group Leader, Max-Planck-Institut für Astrophysik
Theoretical Astrophysics
Inna Vishik (2013-2016)
Assistant Professor, University of California, Davis
Condensed Matter Experiment
Ashvin Vishwanath (2001-2004)
Professor of Physics, Harvard University
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
MIchael Wagman (2017-2020)
Associate Scientist, Fermilab
Nuclear & Particle Theory
Fa Wang (2009-2012)
Associate Professor, Peking University
Hard Condensed Matter Theory
Haruki Watanabe (2015-2016)
Lecturer, University of Tokyo, Japan
Hard Condensed Matter Theory; Theoretical Nuclear & Particle Physics
Olivia White (2005-2008)
Partner, McKinsey & Company
Soft Condensed Matter Theory
Taritree Wongjirad (2014-2017)
Assistant Professor, Tufts University
Experimental Nuclear & Particle Physics
Sanfeng Wu (2016-2019)
Assistant Professor, Princeton University
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics
Andrea Young (2011-2014)
Assistant Professor, University of California, Santa Barbara
Experimental Condensed Matter Physics