MITCommittee on Academic Performance

Petition Process: Submission Deadlines 2016-2017

The Committee on Academic Performance (CAP) reviews petitions monthly during the Fall and Spring Terms, and in January and June when it meets to review the academic performance of undergraduate students. It does not meet during the summer.

Note that the CAP reviews petitions for undergraduates only; graduate students should follow the petition process outlined on the website of the Office of the Dean for Graduate Education.

General Petition Deadlines

If your petition is complete on the date listed below...
(Online petitions due at 11:59 pm; paper petitions due before 5:00 pm in 7-104.)

...then you will receive email notification of the CAP's decision by 5:00 pm on the date in this column.

Monday, September 12

Friday, September 16

Monday, October 17

Friday, October 21

Monday, October 31

Friday, November 4

Monday, November 14

Friday, November 18

Monday, November 28

Friday, December 2

Monday, January 9

Friday, January 13

Monday, January 23

Friday, January 27

Monday, February 6

Friday, February 10

Monday, March 20

Friday, March 24

Monday, April 10

Friday, April 14

Monday, May 8

Friday, May 12

Friday, June 2

Thursday, June 8

Monday, June 12

Friday, June 16

Petitions to Exceed Credit Limits

Petitions to exceed credit limits (including the Freshman Fall credit limit) should be submitted for the first deadline in each term, that is:

Petitions to exceed the Freshman Spring credit limit may be submitted in December or January.

Late or Incomplete Petitions

Petition deadlines are firm. Late petitions will be deferred to the next cycle.

The Committee will not review a petition until it is complete. The CAP Administrator will hold your incomplete petition and notify you via email of any missing information.