MITCommittee on Academic Performance

Petition Process: Submission Deadlines 2013-2014

The Committee on Academic Performance (CAP) reviews petitions monthly during the Fall and Spring Terms, and in January and June when it meets to review the academic performance of undergraduate students. It does not meet during the summer.

General Petition Deadlines

If your petition is received in 5-104 and complete by 5 p.m. on the date listed below.

Then, you will receive email notification of the CAP's decision by 5 p.m. on the corresponding date listed in this column.

Tuesday, September 10

Friday, September 13

Tuesday, October 22

Friday, October 25

Tuesday, November 12

Friday, November 15

Tuesday, December 3

Friday, December 6

Monday, January 6

Friday, January 10

Friday, January 17

Friday, January 24

Tuesday, February 11

Friday, February 14

Tuesday, March 11

Friday, March 14

Tuesday, April 15

Friday, April 18

Tuesday, May 6

Friday, May 9

Wednesday, May 28

Friday, June 6

Friday, June 6

Friday, June 13


Petitions to Exceed Credit Limits

Petitions to exceed credit limits (including the Freshman Fall credit limit) should be submitted for the first deadline in each term, that is:

Petitions to exceed the Freshman Spring credit limit may be submitted in December or January.

Late or Incomplete Petitions

Petition deadlines are firm. Late petitions will be deferred to the next cycle.

The Committee will not review a petition until it is complete. The CAP Staff Associate will hold your incomplete petition and notify you via email of any missing information.