MIT Anthropology News Archives

DV Lab

Christine Walley and Chris Boebel create course in documentary filmmaking

Christine Walley and Chris Boebel have released a trailer for their new Spring 2010 course "21A.339J DV Lab: Documenting Science through Video and New Media" – see it here.

Heather Paxson

Heather Paxson receives Belasco Prize

Heather Paxson has received the 2009 Belasco Prize for Scholarly Excellence from the Association for the Study of Food and Society for "Post-Pasteurian Cultures: The Microbiopolitics of Raw-Milk Cheese in the United States," which was published in Cultural Anthropology 23(1):15-47. She is the very first recipient of this award.

Stefan Helmreich

Stefan Helmreich receives Levitan Prize

Stefan Helmreich has won MIT's 2009 Levitan Teaching Prize in the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.

Susan Silbey

Susan Silbey receives Kalven Prize

Susan Silbey has been honored with the 2009 Harry J. Kalven Jr. Prize by the Law and Society Association.

Susan Silbey

Susan Silbey receives Guggenheim Fellowship

Susan Silbey has been awarded the 2008 John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation Fellowship.

Heather Paxson

Heather Paxson receives Levitan Prize and Baker Award

Heather Paxson is the 2008 recipient of Levitan Prize in the Humanities, for "Economies of Sentiment, Ecologies of Production: Crafting American Artisanal Cheese" as well as one of 2 recipients of the 2008 Everett Moore Baker Memorial Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching.

MIT Anthropology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Mass. Ave, E53-335, Cambridge, MA 02142
ph: 617.452.2837    fax: 617.253.5363