MIT Anthropology Faculty

Jean Jackson

Featured Faculty

Jean Jackson

Jean Jackson began teaching anthropology at MIT in 1972. She has carried out fieldwork in Mexico, Guatemala, and, from 1968 to the present, in Colombia, initially in the Central Northwest Amazon. In addition to her work on indigenous mobilizing in Colombia, with a focus on the role of the State and NGOs, she has also conducted ethnographic research in an inpatient chronic pain center, and published articles and essays about mind/body coordination. More

Manduhai Buyandelger

Manduhai BUYANDELGER

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Room E53-335s · 617-324-5510
manduhai@mit.edu

Ian Condry

Ian CONDRY

Professor of Japanese Cultural Studies
Room 14N-303 ·617-452-2709
condry@mit.edu

Michael M.J. Fischer

Michael M.J. FISCHER

Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Humanities
Professor of Anthropology and Science and Technology Studies

Room E51-296B · 617-253-2564
mfischer@mit.edu

Stefan Helmreich

Stefan HELMREICH

Elting E. Morison Chair, Professor of Anthropology
Program Head

Room E53-335Q · 617-253-9343
sgh2@mit.edu

James Howe

James HOWE

Professor of Anthropology - Emeritus
Room E53-335C · 617-253-6954
jhowe@mit.edu

Jean Jackson

Jean JACKSON

Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow
Professor of Anthropology - Emeritus

Room E53-335F · 617-253-6953
jjackson@mit.edu

Erica James

Erica JAMES

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Room E53-335G · 617-253-7321
ejames@mit.edu

Graham Jones

Graham JONES

Lister Brothers Career Development Professor
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Room E53-335P · 617-715-4969
gmj@mit.edu

Heather Paxson

Heather PAXSON

Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow
Professor of Anthropology
Director of Graduate Studies, HASTS

Room E53-335R · 617-253-7859
paxson@mit.edu

Susan Silbey

Susan SILBEY

Leon and Anne Goldberg Professor of Humanities
Professor of Sociology and Anthropology

Room E53-335D · 617-253-6952
ssilbey@mit.edu

Arthur Steinberg

Arthur STEINBERG

Professor of Anthropology - Emeritus
arthurs@mit.edu

Christine Walley

Christine WALLEY

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Room E53-335U · 617-258-7908
cwalley@mit.edu

MIT Anthropology
77 Massachusetts Avenue, E53-335, Cambridge, Massachusetts 02142
ph: 617.452.2837    fax: 617.253.5363    anthro@mit.edu