MIT Anthropology Faculty

Erica James

Featured Faculty

Erica James

Erica James is a medical and psychiatric anthropologist who joined MIT Anthropology in 2004. She is also the Director of the MIT Global Health and Medical Humanities Initiative (GHMHI), a new venture launched in 2014. At its core is the understanding that the promotion of "health", whether local or global, requires interdisciplinary analysis of its complex determinants. GHMHI combines best practices in global health and the medical humanities to add a distinctive analytical approach to the field of medical education through exisiting and new courses, extracurricular events, experimental research collaborations, and interdisciplinary teaching opportunities. GHMHI is developing a mixed-methods training program that teaches participants best practices in global health, medical humanities, bioethics, and health technology assessment using a combination of both quantitative and qualitative approaches.More

Manduhai Buyandelger

Manduhai BUYANDELGER

Class of 1956 Career Development Associate Professor of Anthropology
Room E53-335S · 617-324-5510
manduhai@mit.edu

Ian Condry

Ian CONDRY

Professor of Japanese Cultural Studies
Room 14N-303 ·617-452-2709
condry@mit.edu

Michael M.J. Fischer

Michael M.J. FISCHER

Andrew W. Mellon Professor of Humanities
Professor of Anthropology and Science and Technology Studies

Room E51-296B · 617-253-2564
mfischer@mit.edu

Stefan Helmreich

Stefan HELMREICH

Elting E. Morison Professor of Anthropology
Program Head

Room E53-335Q · 617-253-9343
sgh2@mit.edu

James Howe

James HOWE

Professor of Anthropology - Emeritus
Room E53-335C · 617-253-6954
jhowe@mit.edu

Jean Jackson

Jean JACKSON

Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow
Professor of Anthropology - Emeritus

Room E53-335F · 617-253-6953
jjackson@mit.edu

Erica James

Erica JAMES

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Room E53-335G · 617-253-7321
ejames@mit.edu

Graham Jones

Graham JONES

Lister Brothers Career Development Professor
Associate Professor of Anthropology

Room E53-335P · 617-715-4969
gmj@mit.edu

Graham Jones

Amy MORAN-THOMAS

Assistant Professor of Anthropology
Room E53-335B · 617-324-7439
amorant@mit.edu

Heather Paxson

Heather PAXSON

Margaret MacVicar Faculty Fellow
William R. Kenan, Jr. Professor of Anthropology
Director of Graduate Studies, HASTS

Room E53-335R · 617-253-7859
paxson@mit.edu

Susan Silbey

Susan SILBEY

Leon and Anne Goldberg Professor of Humanities
Professor of Sociology and Anthropology

Room E53-335D · 617-253-6952
ssilbey@mit.edu

Arthur Steinberg

Arthur STEINBERG

Professor of Anthropology - Emeritus
arthurs@mit.edu

Christine Walley

Christine WALLEY

Associate Professor of Anthropology
Room E53-335U · 617-258-7908
cwalley@mit.edu

MIT Anthropology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Mass. Ave, E53-335, Cambridge, MA 02142
ph: 617.452.2837    fax: 617.253.5363    anthro@mit.edu