MIT Astrophysics Colloquia - Fall 2014

Tuesdays at 4:00 PM in the Marlar Lounge, Room 37-252
MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research
70 Vassar Street, Cambridge, MA
(unless location otherwise noted)
Refreshments are served at 3:45 PM.

Sponsored by
the Astrophysics Division of the MIT Department of Physics and
the MIT Kavli Institute for Astrophysics and Space Research.



Tuesday Sep 9: NOTE: location change: Colloquium will take place in the Pappalardo Room (4-349)
The Search For 100 Earths
Debra Fischer
Yale
Host: TBD

Abstract: The search for exoplanets is motivated by the question of whether life exists elsewhere. This drives our interest in the detection of planets that are similar to our own world: rocky planets with the potential for liquid surface water and plate tectonics; worlds that might harbor life that we can recognize. Importantly, we will need to discover not just a few, but hundreds of these worlds to eventually gain a statistical understanding of whether life is rare, common, or ubiquitous and ground-based telescopes offer an ideal platform for carrying out decade-long surveys. It is critical for follow-up studies (imaging, atmospheric studies) that these planets orbit nearby stars. In this talk, I will discuss how we plan to take what we've learned and push on to the next frontier: our plans for a next generation spectrograph, EXPRES, to carry out a search 100 Earths with the Discovery Channel Telescope.

Tuesday Sep 16:
TBD
Mario Juric
LSST
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Sep 23:
TBD
Dusan Keres
UC San Diego
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Sep 30:
TBD
Luis Lehner
Perimeter Institute
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Oct 7:
TBD
Mikhail Medvedev
University of Kansas
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Oct 14:
Astrophysical Feedback: Where Do Galaxies End and the IGM Begins?
Michael Shull
University of Colorado at Boulder
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Oct 21:
TBD
Gaspar Bakos
Princeton
Host:

Abstract:

Tuesday Oct 28:
TBD
Rebekah Dawson
UC Berkeley
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Nov 4:
TBD
Dan Hooper
Fermilab / University of Chicago
Host:TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Nov 11:
NO COLLOQUIUM: VETERANS DAY HOLIDAY


Tuesday Nov 18:
TBD
Mike Boylan-Kolchin
University of Maryland
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Nov 25:
TBD
Beth Willman
Haverford College
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Dec 2:
TBD
Eve Ostriker
Princeton
Host: TBD

Abstract:

Tuesday Dec 9:
TBD
Kaitlin Kratter
University of Arizona
Host: TBD

Abstract:

This page is maintained by Mark Vogelsberger