skip to content

Alumni News

July 26: Melanie Flores ’92 combines the energy and imagination of a kindergartener with the engineering design process
July 22: Eboney Hearn '01 named director of MIT Office of Engineering Outreach Programs
January 4: Carl Schoellhammer PhD ’15 one of Forbes’s 2016 30 Under 30

October 30: In Memorium: Ethan Gillett, M.S.CEP 2011
October 15: Boston Globe profiles Novopyxis, founded by Rathi Srinivas PhD ’15, which works to deliver drugs through the skin
September 16: Julia Sun ’15 and Jonathan Corzo ’15 teach local eighth graders engineering design
September 14: Fernando Funakoshi ’09 discusses the path to his post-graduate life in Mexico
August 5: National Geographic profiles the amazing solar work of Miles Barr PhD '12
  Hal Alper (PhD ’06) wins 2015 Society for Industrial Microbiology and Biotechnology (SIMB) Young Investigator Award
April 10: Joseph Kim ’92 wins grant to develop Ebola vaccine
February 11: Armon Sharei PhD ’13 shares his story of entrepreneurial success
February 5: Karen Gleason ’82, alums John Klier ’84, Samir Mitragotri PhD ’96, and Doros Theodorou PhD ’95 elected to the National Academy of Engineering
January 2: Congrats to Armon Sharei PhD ’13, named one of Forbes 30 under 30
December 16: Lita Nelsen ’64, SM ’66 earns her MIT Student-Swim Requirement
August 19: Congratulations Miles Barr PhD ’12 – one of TechReview’s 2014 Innovators under 35
June 25: In memoriam: Paul Uche ’13
May 29: David Whitlock SB ’78, SM ’78 and Spiros Jamas SM ’83, ScD ’87 trust bacteria instead of showering to keep clean
May 6: Micah Green PhD ’07, professor at Texas Tech, wins DuPont Young Faculty Award
October 11: Chris Loose PhD ’07’s startup Semprus BioSciences profiled by MIT News
July 17: The Boston Globe calls alumna Jasmina Aganovic ’09 “a 21st-century Mary Kay”
April 23: David Lam SM ’70 ScD ’73 profiled in Technology Review
December 19: Brian Anderson MS ’05 PhD ’06 was named GE Plastics Material Engineering Professor at WVU
October 2: Melody Swartz (PhD ’98) wins 2012 MacArthur Genius Grant
February 24: Yaw D. Yeboah (SB ’75 ScD ’79) named FSU’s new dean of engineering
February 22: Peterson ’09, battery engineer and 49ers cheerleader, is the latest “Science Cheerleader”
December 15: Chris Loose PhD ’07 wins Hertz Foundation’s Strauss Award
December 11: Bülent Eczacıbaşı (SM ’74) discusses the debt crisis in Europe and Turkey’s economy
November 23: Allen Lin '11 named Marshall Scholar
October 23: Professor Emeritus Jeff Tester (PhD ’71) wins Geothermal Special Achievement Award from the Geothermal Resources Council
October 6: Joel Moxley (PhD ’07) named one of Technology Review’s “35 Innovators under 35”
September 28: Rakesh Agrawal ScD '80, awarded the National Medal of Technology and Innovation
August 6: Doron Levin (SM '95 PhD '97) wins the Society of Chemical Industry's 2011 Gordon E. Moore Medal
June 23: Arnold F. Stancell ScD ’62, former VP Mobil Oil and Turner Professor Chemical Engineering Emeritus Georgia Tech, appointed by President Obama to the National Science Board
June 23: LaShanda James Korley (PhD ’05) named DuPont Young Professor
June 3: Eve Higginbotham (SM ’75) elected to MIT board of trustees
June 3: Rahul Singhvi (ScD ’94) becomes Founding Director of MLV Advisory Board
June 1: Bill Anderson (SM ’95) profiled by MIT Sloan Alumni News
January 24: Steven Griffiths PhD ’02 becomes Masdar Institute’s Director of Institute Initiatives and a Professor of the Practice in Engineering Systems and Management and Chemical Engineering
August 25: Peter Balbus ’82 Named Chairman of the M.I.T. Enterprise Forum of Chicago
August 10: Dr. Joe Cramer ’68 discusses the life of a chemical engineer
July 9: Professor Bhavik Bakshi (PhD '92) named Vice Chancellor of TERI University
June 24: Former ChemE professor and nuclear engineering head Edward Mason ScD ’50 dies at 85
June 14: Randy Lewis PhD ’95 becomes new chair of chemical engineering at BYU
June 3: Astronaut Bobby Satcher ’86, PhD ’93, recounts his experience as the first orthopedic surgeon in space
June 3: Beth Israel Deaconess names Elliot L. Chaikof PhD ’89 new chief of surgery
April 27: Noubar Afeyan ’87’s company Joule Biotechnologies profiled in May 2010 Technology Review
April 23: George W. Roberts ’65, NC State ChemE professor emeritus, passes away
April 13: Stephanie Espy ’01 founds MathSP tutorial services in Atlanta, GA.
April 1: John J. Alam ’82 M.D. Joins Inhibitex as Senior Medical Advisor
March 5: Professor Thomas Pigford (SM ’48, ScD ’52), MIT nuclear engineering pioneer, dies at 87
March 4: Dhananjay Dendukuri '07, named Technology Review India's "Humanitarian of the Year"
February 4: Mick Sawka (SM ’91) named Vice President, Business Development, of Biofuels Company Qteros
February 1: John Ross ’56 Publishes a Network Admin How-to Book
December 30: J. Kim ’92 works on a DNA-based vaccine
December 23: Justin Hanes (PhD ’96) directs new Kala Pharmaceuticals
November 15: Bobby Satcher Jr. (SB ’86, PhD ’93) launches into space on the shuttle Atlantis
November 2: Micah Green (PhD ’07) and colleagues unveiled a method for industrial-scale nanotube processing
September 30: Matt Vokoun (MS '05) joins Google Strategy and Business Operations team
September 25: Paul Eich ’65 runs for mayor of Mt. Airy, NC
August 17: Jeff Sakaguchi ’82 Elected Greater Los Angeles Red Cross Chair
August 13: CalTech’s Prof. Julia Greer ’97 discusses her path leading to material sciences
August 10: Jim Olivo ’82 named Director of Strategic Advisory Group, Alan Gray, Inc.
April 8: Neelan Choksi ’92 and his company Lexcycle profiled in Xconomy
April 10: Suege Omnik ’06 brings her Course X training home to Alaska
March 29: Peter Balbus ’82 to Speak at Business Innovation Conference in Chicago October 5-7, 2009
March 13: John Santini (PhD ’99), CEO of MicroChips, Inc., shares the life cycle of an implantable chip device
March 11: Christiane Gumera ’03 works to cure paralysis
February 16: Fariborz Ghadar '68 provides an international perspective for MBAs
February 9: David Gray SM '89, PhD '92 becomes Vice President, Strategic Development, for GT Solar
January 29: Ivan K. Fong '83, SM '84 to be nominated as Homeland Security General Counsel