department of chemical engineering
  news and events
Chemical Engineering and the Department News, events and seminars Faculty, staff, students, post-docs, visitors Undergraduate program in ChE Graduate program in ChE Topics and people Careers and recruiting Resources for ChE faculty, staff and students
news, events and seminars
seminar schedule
frontiers in biotech
hottel lecture
lewis lecture
michaels lecture
back to
welcome alumni
positions open
visting the dept.
whom to contact
back to

The Hoyt C. Hottel Lectureship was established in early 1985 to recognize Professor Hottel's contributions to the intellectual climate of the Chemical Engineering Department, to the encouragement of students over six decades, and to the foundation and direction of the Fuels Research Laboratory. The lectureship is intended to draw eminent scholars to MIT - preferably in the fields of combustion and energy technology - for short periods of residency in order to stimulate future generations of students. The inaugural Hottel Lecture was presented in April 1985 by Professor Hottel himself.

The Hottel Legacy
Professor Hottel began his career at MIT in 1924. He served as faculty member from 1928 to 1968. He was Professor of Fuel Engineering, 1941-1965; Director, Fuels Research Laboratory, 1938-1968; Chairman, Solar Energy Research Committee, 1938-1964; Carbon P. Dubbs Professor of Chemical Engineering, 1965-1968. He remained an active member of the Department as Professor Emeritus from 1968 until his death in 1998.

Professor Hottel's record of long-standing interest and achievement was in the area of more effective use of energy. His work spanned over fifty years and focused on better utilization of fossil fuels, with occasional intensive digressions into solar energy. It embraced major contributions to the maturation of industrial furnace and boiler design from an art to a science, to solar heating, and to early identification and study of other energy-related problems. His awards include the United States Medal for Merit, King's Medal (Great Britain), William H. Walker Award (AIChE), Edgerton Gold Medal (Combustion Institute), Melchett Medal (Institute of Fuel, Great Britain), Max Jakob Award (AIChE and ASME), Founders Award (AIChE), Farrington Daniels Award (Royal Society, London), Founders Award (NAE), and the John Fritz Medal (United Engineering Trustees). He was a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

The Hoyt C. Hottel Lecturers in Chemical Engineering

2007 - Gabor A. Somorjai, University of California, Berkeley 
2006 - John Hofmeister, President, Shell Oil Company
  - Samuel W. Bodman, U.S. Secretary of Energy

- Adel F. Sarofim, Reaction Engineering International (MIT Emeritus Professor)


- Dr. Charles E. Kolb, Aerodyne Research, Inc.


- John H. Seinfeld, California Institute of Technology


- Kevin O. Meyers, Phillips Petroleum Company


- Meinrad K. Eberle, ETH Zurich


- Lanny D. Schmidt, University of Minnesota


- James R. Katzer, Mobil Oil Company


- Mark E. Davis, California Institute of Technology


- Joshua Swithenbank, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom


- Klaus-Heinrich Homann, Technische Hochschule Darmstadt, Germany


- Alexis T. Bell, University of California, Berkeley


- George R. Gavalas, California Institute of Technology


- Forman Williams, University of California, San Diego


- D. Brian Spalding FRS, Imperial College, London


- David M. Golden, SRI International, California
- Ian W. Smith, CSIRO, Australia


- H.G. Wagner, University of Gottenger, Germany


- Felix J. Weinberg, Imperial College, London


- Inaugural Lecture Hoyt C. Hottel, MIT