skip to content


Daniel I. C. Wang Lecture on the Frontiers of Biotechnology

"Improving Human Health through Translational Research"

Dr. Peter S. Kim
President, Merck Research Laboratories

Friday, October 12, 2007

3:30 pm, Building 34-101
Massachusetts Institute of Technology  

Dr. Peter S. Kim

Peter S. Kim, Ph.D., is a structural biologist known for discovering how proteins cause membranes to fuse, a central feature of all life. He has designed novel compounds that stop membrane fusion by the AIDS virus, thereby preventing it from infecting cells.  

Dr. Kim was appointed president of Merck & Co.'s Merck Research Laboratories (MRL) on January 1, 2003 and he is responsible for all of Merck's drug and vaccine discovery and development activities. Previously, Dr. Kim served as MRL's executive vice president of research and development, from February 1, 2001, to December 31, 2002.  

Prior to joining Merck, Dr. Kim was a professor of biology at Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). He was also a member of the Whitehead Institute and an investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute. Dr. Kim also served as a member of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) Advisory Committee to develop an AIDS vaccine.

Dr. Kim received his undergraduate education at Cornell University, graduating with distinction in chemistry. He received his Ph.D. in biochemistry from Stanford University in 1985. While at Stanford, he was also a Medical Scientist Training Program Fellow.
His work has earned him numerous awards including the National Academy of Sciences Award in Molecular Biology, the Eli Lilly Award in Biological Chemistry, the Hans Neurath Award of the Protein Society, and the Samsung Foundation Ho-Am Prize in Basic Science.

Dr. Kim currently is a member of the Board of Directors of Fox Chase Cancer Center and the Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research. He also serves as a member of the Council of the Institute of Medicine.

Dr. Kim was elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences in 1997, and was elected a member of the Institute of Medicine in 2000.

> History and Previous Biotechnology Lectures