skip to content

 

Faculty

Department Head: Klavs F. Jensen

Executive Officer: William H. Green

Undergraduate Officer: Barry S. Johnston

Graduate Officer: Patrick S. Doyle

Graduate Admissions Officer: Richard D. Braatz

Postdoctoral Officer: Karen K. Gleason

printer friendly Printer Friendly Directory (pdf)

  


FacultyNameTitleContactResearch Area

Daniel G. Anderson

  617.258.6843
dgander@mit.edu
biomaterials and drug delivery systems

Robert C. Armstrong

Professor 617.253.4581
rca@mit.edu
polymer molecular theory, polymer fluid mechanics, rheology, multiscale process modeling, transport phenomena, and applied mathematics

János M. Béer

Professor Emeritus 617.253.6661
jmbeer@mit.edu
clean fossil energy electric power generation, turbulent combustion of gaseous, liquid and solid fuels, and reduction of pollutant emission from flames

Paul I. Barton

Professor 617.253.6526
pib@mit.edu
dynamic modeling, simulation and optimization, hybrid and embedded systems, mixed-integer and global optimization theory and algorithms, and design

Martin Z. Bazant

Associate Professor 617.258.7039
bazant@mit.edu
transport phenomena in microfluidics and electrochemical systems, energy storage, and water purification and lab-on-a-chip technology

Daniel Blankschtein

Professor 617.253.4594
dblank@mit.edu
colloid and interface science, thermodynamics and statistical mechanics of structured fluids, and controlled delivery of active ingredients
Rocjard D. Braatz

Richard D. Braatz

Professor 617.253.3112
braatz@mit.edu
systems and control theory, materials and pharmaceuticals manufacturing, systems nanotechnology, applied mathematics

Howard Brenner

Professor Emeritus 617.253.6687
hbrenner@mit.edu
microfluidics, low Reynolds number hydrodynamics, complex fluids, transport, chromatography theory, and aerosol and hydrosol deposition

Fikile R. Brushett

Assistant Professor 617.253.4561
brushett@mit.edu
electrochemical energy conversion and storage, microfluidics, interfacial phenomena, catalyst synthesis, and tomographys

Arup K. Chakraborty

Professor 617.253.3890
arupc@mit.edu
cell-cell recognition in immunology, T cell biology, polymers and membranes, and statistical mechanics

Robert E. Cohen

Professor 617.253.3777
recohen@mit.edu
physics and chemistry of polymers, polymer surfaces/interfaces, and structure-property relationships

Clark K. Colton

Professor 617.253.4585
ckcolton@mit.edu
biomedical engineering, biochemical engineering, and mass transfer

Charles L. Cooney

Professor 617.253.3108
ccooney@mit.edu
biochemical engineering

William M. Deen

Professor Emeritus 617.253.4535
wmdeen@mit.edu
bioengineering, transport phenomena, and membrane separations

Patrick S. Doyle

Professor 617.253.4534
pdoyle@mit.edu
microfluidics, complex fluids, polymer physics, rheology and transport phenomena

Karen K. Gleason

Professor 617.253.5066
kkg@mit.edu
chemical vapor deposition and nuclear magnetic resonance

William H. Green

Department Executive Officer,
Professor
617.253.4580
whgreen@mit.edu
chemical kinetics, molecular simulation, and free radical reactions

Paula T. Hammond

Professor 617.258.7577
hammond@mit.edu
macromolecular design and synthesis, directed assembly using surface templates, nanoscale design of biomaterials, and block copolymers

T. Alan Hatton

Professor 617.253.4588
tahatton@mit.edu
transport phenomena, separation processes, microemulsions, and colloids

Klavs F. Jensen

Department Head, Professor 617.253.4589
kfjensen@mit.edu
microsystems for chemical and biological applications , materials synthesis and processing, and multiscale simulation of reactive processes

Marcus Karel

Professor Emeritus 617.253.6744
karel@mit.edu
physical chemistry of foods, controlled release of active ingredients in foods and pharmaceuticals, and cryopreservation, food engineering

Jesse Kroll

Assistant Professor 617.253.2409
jhkroll@mit.edu
atmospheric chemistry, particulate matter, organic oxidation processes, and chemical kinetics

Robert S. Langer

David H. Koch Institute Professor 617.253.3107
rlanger@mit.edu
drug delivery, biomaterials, tissue engineering, biotechnology, immobilized enzymes, and biomedical engineering

Douglas A. Lauffenburger

Professor 617.252.1629
lauffen@mit.edu
cell, tissue, and biomolecular engineering and computational modeling of biological and physiological systems

J. Christopher Love

Associate Professor 617.324.2300
clove@mit.edu
micro/nanofabrication and surface chemistries, cellular immunology and infectious diseases, immunotherapy/ vaccines, clinical diagnostics

Gregory J. McRae

Professor Emeritus 617.253.6564
mcrae@mit.edu
atmospheric processes responsible for oxidant formation, acid deposition and global climate, particulate dynamics, and chemical transport

Edward Merrill

Professor Emeritus
emerrill@mit.edu
polymer synthesis, polymer physical chemistry, biomedical engineering, biomaterials, and conservation and preservation of works of art

Allan S. Myerson

Professor 617.452.3790
myerson@mit.edu
crystallization from solution with an emphasis on nucleation, polymorphism, and industrial applications of crystallization

Bradley D. Olsen

Assistant Professor 617.715.4548
bdolsen@mit.edu
block copolymers, soft condensed matter physics, protein-based materials, and bioelectronics

Kristala Jones Prather

Associate Professor 617.253.1950
kljp@mit.edu
metabolic engineering, biochemical engineering, bioprocess engineering, and synthetic biology

Yuriy Román

Assistant Professor 617.253.4561
yroman@mit.edu
heterogeneous catalysis, energy: biomass conversion","biofuels, CO2 utilization

Gregory Rutledge

Professor 617.253.0171
rutledge@mit.edu
polymer science and engineering, statistical thermodynamics, and molecular simulation

Herbert H. Sawin

Professor Emeritus 617.253.4570
hhsawin@mit.edu
directional plasma etching, dry wafer cleaning, kinetics, surface science, and process modeling

Hadley Sikes

Assistant Professor 617.253.5224
sikes@mit.edu
biomolecular engineering, applications of redox chemistry, clinical diagnostics, molecular biotechnology

Kenneth A. Smith

Professor 617.253.1973
kas@mit.edu
fluid mechanics and heat and mass transfer

George Stephanopoulos

Professor 617.253.3904
geosteph@mit.edu
nanoscale process systems engineering, multiresolution modeling and design of materials and processes , and multiscale process operations and control

Gregory Stephanopoulos

Professor 617.253.4583
gregstep@mit.edu
metabolic and biochemical engineering, biotechnology, and bioinformatics

Michael S. Strano

Associate Professor 617.324.4323
strano@mit.edu
Nanotechnology, transport in nanopores, thermopower waves for energy generation, exciton engineering for solar energy, nanosensors for reaction network elucidation

Jefferson W. Tester

Professor Emeritus 617.253.7090
testerel@mit.edu
environmental remediation and control technology, chemical processes in supercritical fluids, and technologies for renewable and geothermal energy

Bernhardt L. Trout

Professor 617.258.5021
trout@mit.edu
pharmaceutical manufacturing, stabilization and formulation of biopharmaceuticals, nucleation and crystallization

Preetinder S. Virk

Associate Professor 617.253.3177
psvirk@mit.edu
turbulent drag reduction, graph-theoretic modeling of hydrocarbon pyrolysis pathways, and mechanistic investigation of high-transfer hydrogen transfer pathways

Daniel I.C. Wang

Institute Professor 617.253.2126
dicwang@mit.edu
bioreactor engineering, production of recombinant proteins, bioprocess monitoring and control, glycoprotein quality, and protein stabilization

K. Dane Wittrup

Professor 617.253.4578
wittrup@mit.edu
molecular bioengineering, protein engineering, and therapeutic protein biotechnology