Super Mario Brothers
media in transition conference series
abstracts and papers
hotels and travel
MiT7 contact info


CONFERENCE DIRECTORS (selection committee)

Nick Montfort

Nick Montfort, associate professor of digital media at MIT and president of the Electronic Literature Organization, has collaborated on the blog Grand Text Auto, the sticker novel Implementation, and 2002: A Palindrome Story. His books include Twisty Little Passages: An Approach to Interactive Fiction (MIT Press, 2003), Racing the Beam: The Atari Video Computer System, (with Ian Bogost, MIT Press, 2009) and Riddle & Bind (Spineless Books, 2010).

James Paradis

James Paradis is the Robert M. Metcalfe Professor of Writing and Humanistic Studies and interim director of the Comparative Media Studies Program at MIT. His books include T.H. Huxley: Man’s Place in Nature, Victorian Science and Victorian Values (with T. Postlewait), Evolution and Ethics (with G. Williams) and Samuel Butler: Victorian against the Grain: A Critical Overview.

David Thorburn David Thorburn is professor of literature at MIT and director of the MIT Communications Forum. His most recent books (co-edited with Henry Jenkins) are Democracy and New Media and Rethinking Media Change, the launch volumes in the Media in Transition book series. His other writings include Conrad's Romanticism and essays and reviews on literature and media.

William Uricchio William Uricchio is professor and director of the Comparative Media Studies Program (on leave 2010-2011 academic year) and professor of comparative media history at Utrecht University in the Netherlands. His most recent books include Media Cultures , on responses to media in post-9/11 Germany and the US, and We Europeans? Media, New Collectivities and Europe.