Program in Media Arts and Sciences

Graduate Program

A total of 136 students—62 master's candidates and 74 doctoral candidates—were enrolled in the Program in Media Arts and Sciences (MAS) graduate program during the 2012–2013 academic year. The MAS graduate student community included 34 women, 58 foreign students, and five students from underrepresented minority groups.

During the year, 45 advanced degrees were awarded (29 master's and 16 doctorates). MAS received 673 applications to the graduate program and offered admission to 63 new students (including 17 women), a 9% admissions rate. Fifty-five students (including 17 women) enrolled, an 87% yield.

In addition to supervising MAS graduate students, MAS faculty and research staff collectively advised and supported more than 25 graduate students from other departments, including Architecture, Biological Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, Mechanical Engineering, Materials Science and Engineering, and Physics. The program also enrolled students from the Harvard–MIT Division of Health Sciences and Technology (HST).

MAS offered 34 graduate courses during AY2013.

Student Honors and Awards

Arlene Ducao (Information Ecology) received an MIT Public Service Center Fellowship to support her work in Indonesia (usability studies for OpenIR) over the Independent Activities Period.

Matt Hirsch (Information Ecology) won second place in the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) SIGGRAPH student research competition for his 8D display project.

Three of the winning IDEAS Global Challenge project teams had Media Lab members:

- BETH (Beneficial Technologies for Health) Project (\$5,000 award): Elizabeth Tsai (Mediated Matter)
- inSight (\$7,500 award): Jason Boggess and Everett Lawson (Camera Culture)
- OpenIR (\$7,500 award): Abdulaziz Alghunaim, Juhee Bae, and Arlene Ducao (Information Ecology)

David Sengeh (Biomechatronics) won a Rockefeller Foundation Next Century Innovator Award for his Innovate Salone project.

Three MAS students won Schnitzer Prizes: Jie Qi (High-Low Tech), first place; Amit Zoran (Responsive Environments), third place; and Xiao Xiao (Tangible Media), honorable mention.

Dan McDuff (Affective Computing) won the Best Student Paper prize at Face and Gesture 2013.

Matt Stempeck (Civic Media) received a UNESCO NetExplo award for his Lazy Truth project.

Elizabeth Tsai (Mediated Matter) and her team were awarded the Daniel M. Lewin Grand Prize at the \$100K Accelerate Contest for the BETH Project, featuring work to improve prosthetic sockets.

Jacqueline Kory (Personal Robots) was co-author of a paper that received the Outstanding Paper Award at the 2012 ACM International Conference on Multimodal Interaction.

Undergraduate Program

The Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program (UROP) continued to represent the largest undergraduate presence in MAS and the Media Lab. More than 250 undergraduates from across the Institute participated in a wide variety of UROP research projects at the Media Lab, and many students pursued their undergraduate theses and advanced undergraduate projects under MAS faculty supervision. In addition, the MAS program offered seven undergraduate subjects.

MAS also runs an alternative freshman-year program, now in its 15th year. The students in the program participate in weekly Media Lab tutorial/laboratory sessions connected with two core freshman subjects, pursue Media Lab UROP projects, and take two MAS undergraduate subjects on design and research, one of which is an option for satisfying part of the undergraduate Communication Requirement. In AY2013, we had 46 applicants for the program and we selected 26 students, 58% of whom were women.

Events

Health and Wellness Innovation

The New Media Medicine research group held its second annual Health and Wellness Innovation event from January 22 to February 1, 2013. The hackathon is a two-week event that brought together students, health professionals, and innovators from industry to build technologies that empower patients to take control of their health.

Mozilla Festival

At the 2012 Mozilla festival, held in London, members of the Lifelong Kindergarten group (Ricarose Roque, Champika Fernando, Sayamindu Dasgupta, and Eric Rosenbaum) offered a variety of sessions on creative learning. J. Nathan Matias, a graduate student in the Center for Civic Media, facilitated a conversation on citizen video among journalists, filmmakers, coders, and activists. Media Lab director Joi Ito was the opening keynote speaker, and professor Mitchel Resnick and visiting scientist J. Philipp Schmidt also participated.

SXSW Interactive

MAS faculty and students, as well as the Media Lab's Director's Fellows and staff, participated in the 2013 SXSW Interactive Festival in Austin, TX. The Media Lab had a dedicated space with demos, workshops, mini-lectures, and informal conversation. Many hundreds of people stopped by to try out demos such as MaKey MaKey (Lifelong Kindergarten) and Smarter Objects (Fluid Interfaces). Also, the Media Lab showcased its research and offered demos of many other projects through a glass infrastructure station.

Faculty and Staff

New Appointments

Kevin Slavin was appointed assistant professor of media arts and sciences. He will head the new Playful Systems research group. Slavin is known worldwide for successfully integrating digital media, game development, technology, and design. He is a pioneer in rethinking game design and development around new technologies (e.g., GPS) and new platforms (e.g., Facebook).

Honors and Awards

Ed Boyden, a faculty member in Media Arts and Sciences and the McGovern Institute for Brain Research, was named a recipient of the 2013 Grete Lundbeck European Brain Research Prize. The 1 million euro prize was awarded for the development of optogenetics, a technology that makes it possible to control brain activity using light. He was also named the winner of the newly established A F Harvey Engineering Research Prize, awarded by the United Kingdom–based Institute of Engineering and Technology.

César Hidalgo was honored as one of the World Economic Forum's Young Global Leaders for 2013.

Suhasa Kodandaramaiah, a postdoctoral associate in the Synthetic Neurobiology group, was named to the *Forbes* 30 Under 30 list for 2013.

Two faculty members were invited to the White House in FY2013. In April Ed Boyden was present for the announcement of President Obama's BRAIN Initiative, and in August Rosalind Picard attended a White House meeting on games, wellbeing, and attention.

New Books

Ethan Zuckerman, head of the Center for Civic Media, published a new book, *Rewire:* Digital Cosmopolitans in the Age of Connection (W.W. Norton & Company).

Roy Shilkrot (Fluid Interfaces) is one of the authors of the new book *Mastering OpenCV* with Practical Computer Vision Projects (Packt Publishing).

Dietmar Offenhuber (a Media Lab alumnus now with the SENSEable City Laboratory) and Katja Schechtner (Changing Places) co-edited *Inscribing a Square: Urban Data as Public Space* (Springer Vienna Architecture).

Ben Waber (a Media Lab alumnus now serving as a visiting scientist with the Human Dynamics group) published *People Analytics: How Social Sensing Technology Will Transform Business and What It Tells Us about the Future of Work* (FT Press).

Mitchel Resnick Program Head LEGO Papert Professor of Learning Research