[Skip to content]
[Image: Building W35: Albert and Barrie Zesiger Sports & Fitness Center]

Corporation Membership, Historical

Browse Members

View photos | View list

View photos | View list

Life Members
View photos | View list

Ex Officio Members
View photos | View list

Life Members Emeriti
View photos | View list

All Members
View photos | View list

Chairman, Historical
View list

Membership, Former
View list

Chairman of the Corporation

Prior to 1930, the President of the Institute acted as presiding officer of the Corporation. For various periods since then, the Corporation has chosen a presiding officer from among its members.

For more information about the history of MIT, please visit the Institute Archives.

Robert B. Millard Robert B. Millard ’73
Chairman, 2014-present
John S. Reed John S. Reed ’61
Chairman, 2010-2014
Dana G. Mead Dana G. Mead ’67
Chairman, 2003-2010
Alexander V. d'Arbeloff Alexander V. d'Arbeloff ’49
Chairman, 1997-2003
Paul Edward Gray Paul Edward Gray ’54
Chairman, 1990-1997
David Stephen Saxon David Stephen Saxon ’41
Chairman, 1983-1990
Howard Wesley Johnson Howard Wesley Johnson HM
Chairman, 1971-1983
James Rhyne Killian, Jr. James Rhyne Killian, Jr. ’26
Chairman, 1959-1971
Vannevar Bushn Vannevar Bush ’16
Chairman, 1957-1959
Karl Taylor Compton Karl Taylor Compton HM
Chairman, 1948-1954
Samuel Wesley Stratton Samuel Wesley Stratton HM
Chairman, 1930-1931


MIT Corporation elects new members (June 2016)

For more MIT News
Click here...

Committee members who wish to be reimbursed for travel expenses should review the Corporation Office's Travel Reimbursement Policy before making arrangements
» Policy & Vouchers...

MIT Office of the Corporation

Room 7-203
77 Massachusetts Ave Cambridge MA 02139
Phone 617.253.5614
Fax 617.253.8544
E-mail the office