[Skip to content]
[Image: Building 46: McGovern Institute for Brain Research]
Standing Committees

Executive Committee

Jump to:    This year's members     Executive Committee in the bylaws

The Executive Committee, which is charged with "responsibility for general administration and superintendence of all matters relating to the Corporation," meets ten times each academic year. Chaired by the Chair of the Corporation, the Executive Committee includes no fewer than seven nor more than ten other members who shall serve for a term of five years, the President, the Executive Vice President and Treasurer of the Corporation, and the chair of the Investment Company Management Board, ex officio. The Secretary of the Corporation serves as the Secretary of the Executive Committee. The meetings are regularly attended by the Provost.

The agenda of the Executive Committee typically includes such topics as developments in interdisciplinary education and research; student recruitment, admissions and financial aid policies; student life; campus planning; external relations; the sponsorship of research; and changes in the senior administration. The Committee devotes substantial time to the discussion of budget processes, financial planning, and the management and enhancement of the Institute's resources.

[Return to top]


This year the members of the committee are:

Robert B. Millard
Ex Officio

L. Rafael Reif
Ex Officio

Israel Ruiz
Ex Officio

Denis A. Bovin
Ex Officio

James A. Champy (2021)
Lawrence K. Fish (2018)
A. Neil Pappalardo (2017)
Alan G. Spoon (2021)
Henri A. Termeer (2019)
John A. Thain (2018)
Diana C. Walsh (2020)
Susan E. Whitehead (2017)
Barrie R. Zesiger (2019)

R. Gregory Morgan
Regular Guest

Martin A. Schmidt
Regular Guest

Mark DiVincenzo
Regular Guest

[Return to top]


MIT Corporation elects new members (June 2016)

For more MIT News
Click here...

Committee members who wish to be reimbursed for travel expenses should review the Corporation Office's Travel Reimbursement Policy before making arrangements
» Policy & Vouchers...

MIT Office of the Corporation

Room 7-203
77 Massachusetts Ave Cambridge MA 02139
Phone 617.253.5614
Fax 617.253.8544
E-mail the office