Africa Film WebMeeting

Message from: Steve Smith (
About: Results of the Southern African Film Festival in Harare

Wed, 14 Oct 1998 07:37:43 -0400

  • Next message: Louis Hicks: "FW: Looking for two videos -Reply"
    From The Herald, Friday October 2, 1998

    DRC entries scoop six awards at 1998 festival

    The week-long Southern African Film Festival ended yesterday with the
    announcement of the awaited best films awards where newcomer Democratic
    Republic of Congo stole the show by grabbing six awards.
    Best feature film award and best script was won by Ngangura Mwenze of the
    DRC for his film Piesces B'identities.
    Best director's award in the features category went to Jose Laplane of the
    Democratic Republic of Congo for his film Macadam Tribut which also won the
    award for the best cinematographer done by Lionel Cousin.
    The same film also had the best actress award which went to Lydia Ewande,
    while the award for the best actor went to Patrick Shay in the South African
    film Fools by Ramadan Suleman.
    The former Zaire joined SAFF this year after having been recently admitted
    into the Southern African Development Community in 1997.
    The feature category was judged by Professor Mbye Cham of Gambia, Zimbabwean
    film producer Tsitsi Dangarembga, Senegalese film producer Moussa Sene Absa
    and Francoise Kabore of Burkina Faso.
    Macadam Tribut also clinched another award for the feature film with the
    best sound. The best documentary award was clinched by the Zimbabwean film
    Tides of Gold which was directed by Ingrid Sinclair. Sinclair (50) began
    her film career in 1980 in Britain before moving to Zimbabwe in 1989 where
    she has directed and produced various films. She has also won several other
    awards for her work. There was also special mention by the judges of the
    films Chicualacuala directed by Gabrille Mondlane of Mozambique and Banking
    On Women by Kenyan Jane Murago-Munene.
    Though there was no winner in the short films category, Zimbabwean Emmanuel
    Kurewa received special mention for his film Mangwana, and a Lesotho-based
    Don Edkins also received special mention. The judges for the two categories
    were United States-based producer Judy Richardson, Tanzanian University
    lecturer Augustine Hatar and Kudzayi Gamanya of Zimbabwe. The best video
    feature film award went to Albert Wandago of Kenya. Local cellphone
    operator NetOne, media group M-Net, the OAU and Italy's Centre of
    Orientation and Education sponsored awards for the best films.

    You are currently subscribed to african-cinema-conference as: []
    To unsubscribe, forward this message to leave-african-cinema-conference-73905K@XC.Org

    You may post a follow-up message or a new message. To send a reply directly to the author, you may click on the email address above.

    If you would like to submit a message using your own mail program, send it to:

    If you are following up this article, please include the following line at the beginning of your message: