MIT: Massachusetts Institute of Technology
for transfer students
UAAP
The First Year at MIT

Credit for Previous Study: Transfer Credit Examiners

This list shows current departmental transfer credit examiners, but contacts are subject to change. If you have trouble reaching an examiner, contact the appropriate Undergraduate Academic Administrator. For other questions or concerns, please email UAAP Transfer Credit Staff (ap@mit.edu).

1: Civil and Environmental Engineering

Contact: Kiley Clapper, 617-253-7119, 1-290, kclapper@mit.edu

2: Mechanical Engineering

US Universities: Contact: Brandy Baker, 617-253-2305, 1-110, brandyb@mit.edu

Universities outside the US: Prof. Rohit Karnik, 617-324-1155, 3-461A, karnik@mit.edu

CME (Cambridge-MIT Exchange): Contact: Brandy Baker, 617-253-2305, 1-110, brandyb@mit.edu

3: Materials Science and Engineering

Prof. Geoffrey Beach; Contact: Julia Hollingsworth-Brown, 617-258-5816, 6-107, jholling@mit.edu

4: Architecture

Contact: Renée Caso for examiner information, 617-253-7792, 7-337, yammie@mit.edu

5: Chemistry

Contact: Ms. Karen Shaner, 617-253-7271, 6-205, kshaner@mit.edu

6-1: Electrical Engineering

Prof. James Kirtley, 617-253-2357, 10-098, kirtley@mit.edu

6-3: Computer Science

Prof. Albert Meyer, 617-253-6024, 32-G624, meyer@csail.mit.edu
(Assistant Rebecca Yadegar, 617-253-6025, 32-G619, ryadegar@csail.mit.edu)

7: Biology

Dr. Janice Chang; Contact: Joyce Roberge, 617-253-4718, 68-120, roberge@mit.edu

8: Physics

Contact: Catherine Modica, 617-253-4842, 4-315, cmodica@mit.edu

9: Brain and Cognitive Sciences

Contact: Kris Kipp, 617-253-5741, 46-2005, kipp@mit.edu

10: Chemical Engineering

Dr. Barry Johnston, 8-7141, 66-368, bsjohnst@mit.edu

11: Urban Studies and Planning

Prof. Anne Spirn, 617-452-2602, 10-385, spirn@mit.edu

12: Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences

Dr. Vicki McKenna, 617-253-3380, 54-910, vsm@mit.edu

14: Economics

Prof. Glenn Ellison, 617-253-8702, E18-269F, gellison@mit.edu

15: Management Science

Prof. Michelle Hanlon; Contact: Mary Camerlengo, 617-253-0631, E48-541, mcam@mit.edu

16: Aeronautics and Astronautics

Prof. Karen Willcox; Contact: Marie Stuppard, 617-253-2279, 33-202B, mas@mit.edu

17: Political Science

Prof. Melissa Nobles, 617-253-6637, E5617-253-473, mnobles@mit.edu

18: Mathematics (18.01-18.06)

Ms. Alisa Knizel, transfercredit18@math.mit.edu

18: Mathematics (all other subjects)

Prof. Larry Guth, 617-253-4326, E17-314, larryg@mit.edu

20: Biological Engineering

Contact: Dalia Fares, 617-253-5804, 16-267, dalia@mit.edu

21A: Anthropology

Prof. Stefan Helmreich, 617-253-9343, E53-335Q, sgh2@mit.edu

21F: Global Studies and Languages

21H: History

Prof. Eric Goldberg, 617-324-3420, E51-290, egoldber@mit.edu

21L: Literature

Prof. Ruth Perry, 617-253-8876, 14N-415, rperry@mit.edu

21M: Music

Prof. Charles Shadle, 617-452-3208, 10-263, cskull@mit.edu

21M: Theater Arts

Prof. Jay Scheib, 917-612-2137, 50-305, jscheib@mit.edu

21W: Writing and Humanistic Studies

Prof. Kenneth Manning, 617-253-4805, 16-236, manning@mit.edu

22: Nuclear Science and Engineering

Prof. Dennis Whyte, 617-253-1748, NW17-119, whyte@psfc.mit.edu

24-1: Philosophy

Prof. Roger White, 617-253-3554, 32-D924, rog@mit.edu

24-2: Linguistics

Prof. Norvin Richards, 617-258-6837, 32-D868, norvin@mit.edu

CMS: Comparative Media Studies

Prof. James Paradis, 617-253-7392, E15-328, jparadis@mit.edu

STS: Science, Technology, and Society

Prof. Clapperton Mavhunga, 617-324-2792, E51-194c, mavhunga@mit.edu

For information on Humanities, Arts, and Social Science (HASS) Transfer Credit Examiners in fields not listed above, see the full list on the HASS website.