Subcommittee on the HASS Requirement (SHR)


At its meeting of May 20, 2009, the MIT Faculty passed recommendations for changes to the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (HASS) Requirement as put forth by the Committee on the Undergraduate Program with support from the School of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences.

This motion called for the creation of a new Subcommittee of the CUP to oversee the HASS Requirement. In passing this motion, the Faculty supported several high-level goals for the CUP subcommittee:

Charge to the Subcommittee

It is the responsibility of the CUP subcommittee to guide the next phase of implementation of the revisions to the HASS Requirement, and to govern the HASS Requirement as laid-out in the motion approved by the Faculty on May 20, 2009. To that end, subject to final approval by the CUP and the Faculty, the subcommittee shall act with power to:

In addition, the Subcommittee shall undertake the following interim responsibilities:

Membership Academic Year 2016-2017

Anne McCants, Chair (2017)
Members to be appointed
Patrica Fernandes, Assistant Dean, Communication and HASS Requirements
Jason Donath, staff to SHR
TBD, staff to SHR


Back to top