Photograph of MIT dome
HOME | Search:

Faculty

Name

Email

Department and
Current Research Areas

Aiyar, Sana

aiyar@mit.edu

History
South Asia (India, Pakistan, Bangladesh); Africa; colonialism; decolonization; South Asian diasporas; race and politics; multiculturalism; transnational history

Broadhead, William

williamb@mit.edu

History
Greek and Roman history; Roman Italy; Latin and Sabellic epigraphy; the ancient city

Bucciarelli, Larry

 

STS
Emeritus Faculty

Buyandelger, Manduhai

manduhai@mit.edu

Anthropology
religion; shamanism; memory; politics; gender; post-socialism; state-building; Asia

Capozzola, Christopher

capozzol@mit.edu

History
American history; law and society; foreign relations; war and the military; migration; labor

Condry, Ian

condry@mit.edu

Anthropology
media ethnography; popular culture; performance; globalization; ethnography of cultural production; music and technology; animation and film; Japan

Dower, John

 

 

History
Emeritus Faculty
modern Japan; war and memory; visual culture

Durant, John

jdurant@mit.edu

STS
public engagement with science and technology; public scientific and technological controversies; museum studies; science and religion

Ekmekcioglu, Lerna

 

lerna@mit.edu

History
Ottoman Empire, Turkish Republic (and non-Muslims in both); Armenian history; cultural pluralism in the Middle East; women in the developing world; women and gender during mass violent conflicts; genocide; diasporas

Fischer, Michael MJ

mfischer@mit.edu

STS/Anthropology
ethnographic practice; social and cultural theory and critique; aesthetics; multi-sited global processes, ideologies and religions; biomedical and information technologies; focus on US, Middle East, South and Southeast Asia

Fitzgerald, Deborah

dkfitz@mit.edu

STS
agriculture; environment; technology

Ghachem, Malick

mghachem@mit.edu

History
slavery and abolition; legal and constitutional history; the Atlantic revolutions; history of financial crises and fraud; criminal justice; religious liberty

Goldberg, Eric

egoldber@mit.edu

History
early medieval hunting; kingship; political culture

Graham, Loren

lrg@mit.edu

STS
Emeritus Faculty
history of modern science; science policy; history of Russian science; Native American history

Helmreich, Stefan

sgh2@mit.edu

Anthropology
anthropology of the life sciences; race and science; kinship; cultures of computing; maritime anthropology/social studies of oceanography; sound studies

Howe, James

jhowe@mit.edu

Anthropology
Emeritus Faculty
Latin America; ethnohistory; indigenous-state relations and missionization in the Americas; cultural representation; photography; symbolism

Jackson, Jean

jjackson@mit.edu

Anthropology
anthropology of lowland South America; Latin American indigenous movements, focus on Colombia; medical anthropology, focus on chronic pain, stigma, mind/body problem

James, Erica

ejames@mit.edu

Anthropology
violence, human rights, and transitional justice; professional ethics; medical and psychiatric anthropology; anthropology of the senses; regional focus on Haiti and the African Diaspora

Jones, Graham

gmj@mit.edu

Anthropology
magic, expressive culture, rationality, expertise, apprenticeship, computer-mediated communication, language ideologies

Kaiser, David

dikaiser@mit.edu

STS
history of modern physics; science and the Cold War; pedagogy and science

Keller, Evelyn Fox

 

STS
Emeritus Faculty

Keniston, Kenneth

kken@mit.edu

STS
Emeritus Faculty

Leighton, Christopher

cleight@mit.edu

History
modern China; cultural history; capitalism

Light, Jennifer S.

jslight@mit.edu

STS
history of American technology since 1850; technology and the urban environment; technocracy and technical expertise; simulation and society; gender, race, and technology

Manning, Kenneth

manning@mit.edu

STS/Writing and Humanistic Studies
biography in science; African Americans in science, technology, and medicine; race and science; scientific institutions

Marx, Leo

STS
Emeritus Faculty

Mavhunga, Clapperton

mavhunga@mit.edu

STS
Africa in global science & technology; global science & technology in Africa; environment, poverty, and technology in rural African villages; firearms in African/global history

Mazlish, Bruce

History
Emeritus Faculty

McCants, Anne

amccants@mit.edu

History
economic history; medieval and early modern technology; the Netherlands and global trade

Mindell, David A

mindell@mit.edu

STS
history of aviation and spaceflight; large scale engineering systems; relationships between humans and machines; archaeology in the deep ocean

Nagahara, Hiromu

nagahara@mit.edu

History
modern Japan; history of media and popular culture; censorship

Paxson, Heather

paxson@mit.edu

Anthropology
food and agriculture; craft knowledge and manufacturing; material culture; reproductive technologies and feminist STS

Perdue, Peter

History
Emeritus Faculty

Postol, Theodore

postol@mit.edu

STS
nuclear weapons; missile defense;
science, technology, and international security policy

Ravel, Jeffrey

ravel@mit.edu

History
Old Regime and Revolutionary France; European cultural and intellectual history; the history of the book and comparative media studies; Latin America; World history

Ritvo, Harriet

ritvo@mit.edu

History
environmental history; people and other animals; modern British history; history of natural history

Schüll, Natasha

nds@mit.edu

STS
digital technology and the self; technology design and human experience; neuroscience and society; consumer culture and addiction; self-experimentation; ethnography of science and technology

Shell, Hanna Rose

hrshell@mit.edu

STS
visual representation in science; history and ethnography of recycling and salvage; documentary and experimental film studies; material culture of the life sciences/museum studies

Silbey, Susan S.

ssilbey@mit.edu

Anthropology
law and society; risk management; audit and surveillance; laboratory ethnography; environmental management; engineering profession and education; gender and science; research methods

Skolnikoff, Eugene

 

STS
Emeritus Faculty

Smith, Merritt Roe

roesmith@mit.edu

STS
comparative studies of industrialization; social and political implications of technology in the Civil War era; comparative studies of early industrial communities; military enterprise and technological change

Steinberg, Arthur

 

Anthropology
Emeritus Faculty

Teng, Emma

eteng@mit.edu

History
Chinese migration; diaspora; Chinese frontier studies; ethnic studies

Trilling, Leon

 

STS
Emeritus Faculty

Turkle, Sherry

sturkle@mit.edu

STS
digital life and new forms of conversation; social/psychological impact of digital culture; science, technology, and memoir; psychology/epistemology of objects; psychoanalysis and the culture of simulation

Walley, Christine

cwalley@mit.edu

Anthropology
environmental conflict in East Africa and urban United States; politics of conservation and development; expert and popular forms of knowledge; social inequalities domestically and internationally; transnational feminism; documentary film production

Watson, William

History
Emeritus Faculty

Wilder, Craig

cwilder@mit.edu

History
Atlantic world; Colonial North America; United States; urban history; history of science, religion, and culture

Williams, Rosalind

rhwill@mit.edu

STS
cultural history of technology; modern European history and literature; the built world

Wood, Elizabeth

elizwood@mit.edu

History/Women's Studies
Russian and Soviet history; feminist theory; cultural, political, and social history; Russian politics and society today

Yates, JoAnne

jyates@mit.edu

Sloan School of Management
business history (American); history of information technology; history of standardization