Photograph of MIT dome
HOME | Directory | Site Map | Search:

Graduate Student INFO

Click on a student's name for more information.

Name Email Current Research Areas

Blackburn, Renée

rmblack@mit.edu

business and economic history; history of technology; automotive history; regulation; risk; industrial accidents; engineering; gender

Burks, Marie

meburks@mit.edu

history of social science; US cultural and intellectual history; urban history; sociology of knowledge; history and literature

Chaudhuri, Ashawari

ashawari@mit.edu

anthropology; sociology of science; hybridity; nature and culture; material-semiotic study of Bt cotton

Deshmukh Towery, Nathaniel

ndt@mit.edu

environment; energy; sustainability; public policy; social movements/collective behavior; organizational sociology; public understanding of science; law; regulation; science and democracy

Edoh, M. Amah

medoh@mit.edu

material culture; politics of representation; postcoloniality; West Africa

Fadok, Richard

rfadok@mit.edu

history, philosophy, and anthropology of the life and health sciences; neuroscience; psychiatry; scientific technique and practice; historical epistemology, philosophy of science; social theory; historiography; science communication

Johnson, Amy

amyj@mit.edu

language and technology; linguistic and media anthropology; sociolinguistics; social media; CMC; parody; satire; humor

Kapsalakis, Lauren

lkapsa@mit.edu

medical anthropology; risk studies & statistics; environmental illness; diagnostic categories; epistemic authority; graphic evidence; ethnography & subjectivity; Latin America

Kelkar, Shreeharsh

skelkar@mit.edu

sociology of computing, work and organizations; human-computer interaction; computer-supported cooperative work

Kim, Clare

clarek@mit.edu

history of mathematics; applied mathematics; science pedagogy

Kim, Grace

g_kim@mit.edu

film; museum practices; visual culture

Labruto, Nicole

nlabruto@mit.edu

anthropology of sustainability; green capitalism; energy; waste; contemporary alchemy; engineering; development; Brazil

Laurence, Alison

laurence@mit.edu

animals on display; cultures of collecting; natural history; museums; material culture; American history; cultural history

Li, Lan

lanli@mit.edu

history of medicine; China; integrative medicine; film and science; cultural anthropology of medicine and the body

Muir-Harmony, Teasel

teasel@mit.edu

American history; cold war; history of science; history of technology; space history

Müller, Lucas

lmm@mit.edu

history of life sciences and medicine; science policy; science in the public sphere

Mutlu, Burcu

bmutlu@mit.edu

new reproductive technologies; anthropology of science, technology and medicine; borders/boundaries; feminist theory

Oviatt, Peter

oviatt@mit.edu

mycology; mushroom science; myco-technologies; edible fungi; food production; ecology; wildness

Özden-Schilling, Canay

ozden@mit.edu

economic anthropology; electricity markets; energy; infrastructures

Özden-Schilling, Tom

tom_sa@mit.edu

mining, strategic minerals, Canada, First Nations, geoinformatics, economic anthropology, environmental history, visual culture, history of geology

Perry, Rebecca

rebperry@mit.edu

3D modeling, computer graphics, animation production, craftsmanship, interaction design, software tool design, education

Robinson, Hilary

hc_r@mit.eduu

biological sciences; genomics; surveillance technology; computing; databases; forensics; stigma; race; gender; law; science and democracy; equality

Scaramelli, Caterina

scaramel@mit.edu

anthropology of water and of natural resources governance; politics and imaginaries of hydropower; eco-parks and natural reserves governance; environmental conflict and social movements; Turkey

Semel, Beth

bsemel@mit.edu

medical and linguistic anthropology; history of psychology/psychiatry; expertise; professionalization; Haiti; US

Shapiro, Ryan

ryannoah@mit.edu

modern American history; history of medicine; history of science; animal-human interactions; environmental history; nuclear studies; war and society; policing dissent; freedom of information

Shmuely, Shira

sshmuely@mit.edu

environmental history; human-animal relationships; law and science; law and society; critical theory

Singerman, David

singsing@mit.edu

history of empire; economic history; history of science; Atlantic history; Caribbean history; commodities; history of economic thought; cycling; doping; science and sport; eugenics

Spero, Ellan

efs8@mit.edu

business history; academic-industrial cooperation; science and engineering higher education; textile science; material culture

Thakor, Mitali

mitalit@mit.edu

sex work; trafficking; feminist STS; critical surveillance and crime studies; digital STS

Thompson, Michaela

mjthomps@mit.edu

environmental history; history of biology; marine science; animal-human interactions; taxonomy; history of technology; apex predators

Tylko, John

tylko@mit.edu

history of technology, innovation and entrepreneurship; history of aeronautics and spaceflight; Apollo and the Cold War

Wanderer, Emily

wanderer@mit.edu

anthropology of the life sciences; medical anthropology; public health and politics, security studies; biodefense

Wexler, Anna

annaw@mit.edu

neuroscience and society; brain machine interfaces; neuroengineering; bioethics; science and law; science and public policy

Wilson, Benjamin

btwilson@mit.edu

nuclear history; history of science; U.S. political history; Cold War history