Photograph of MIT dome
HOME | Directory | Site Map | Search:

Graduate Student INFO

Click on a student's name for more information.

Name Email Current Research Areas

Aidinoff, Marc

aidinoff@mit.edu

sociology of knowledge; decision making; organizational behavior; technocracy; history of the social sciences

Bach, Alona

arbach@mit.edu

history of technology; religion; material culture; gender; science and performance

Bailey, Taylor

baileyt@mit.edu

environmental history; history of human-animal relationships; conservation; hunting; wildlife; U.S. history; history of science

Christidi, Nadia

nadiach@mit.edu

anthropology of future planning and design; climate change realities and imaginaries; water stress and water management solutions; cities; diversification, resilience, and sustainability; speculative design and design fiction

Fadok, Richard

rfadok@mit.edu

anthropology of the life sciences; design anthropology; science and technology studies; history of biology and biotechnology; media studies

Garcia-Montes, Mariel

marielgm@mit.edu

privacy, surveillance and social control; internet and platforms; technological openness movements; participatory processes; youth and media; networked social movements; feminist and postcolonial STS; design justice

Gibbons, Kelcey

kelceyg@mit.edu

history of technology; computing; freedom; media; African-American communities; class and race; sociology of information technology; digital histories and storytelling; becoming American

Gonzalez, Steven

stevengo@mit.edu

anthropology and history of information technology (IT); anthropology of science fiction; cultures of computing; data centers/server farms; ethnographies of infrastructure; professional language/sociolinguistics; material-semiotics; feminist postcolonial science studies; anthropocene

Grande, Aja

grande@mit.edu

ontologies of formative learning; ethnobotany; community-based learning; anthropology; science, technology & society

Immerman, Eleanor

immerman@mit.edu

medical apartheid, sociology of knowledge; technocracy; participatory action research, biopolitics

Kapsalakis, Lauren

lkapsa@mit.edu

history of the social sciences; cultural and transnational history; the laboratory and the field

Kochhar, Rijul

rijul@mit.edu

anthropologies of waiting; antibiotic resistance; bacteriophages; biopolitics and biosecurity; Cold War technoscience; disability, toxicity, and injury; emergen(t)cy states; futures; life-forms; pharmaceuticals; philosophy and anthropology; planetary crises; zones of human/animal care; United States, India

Khan, Rustam

rustam@MIT.EDU

built environment; technoscience; science, technology, society; chemical production; public health; biology; global commodity networks; development and expertise; capitalism and socialism; borderlands; Soviet Union and Global South

La Rock, Zach

larock@MIT.EDU

agriculture; populism; crisis; containment; knowledge production; transvaluation; bioengineering; Anthropocene; Italy

Lee, Crystal

crystall@MIT.EDU

critical computing; disability studies; data visualization; the senses; media and mediation; feminist STS; quantitative methods

Lee, Jia Hui

jiahui@MIT.EDU

human and other animals; sensing; anthropology of science; anthrozoology; development; olfaction; global South; science and technology studies

Loh, Timothy

timloh@MIT.EDU

deafness and sign language; critical disability studies; transnational discourses and movements; biopolitics, bioethics, and the state; religion; Middle East; Jordan; Singapore

Menzel, Julia

julimen@MIT.EDU

history of science; science studies; critical theory; capitalism; physics; US history

Ochigame, Rodrigo

computing, mathematical modeling, history and philosophy of logic, anthropology of reason, historical epistemology

Peyravi, Raha

rpeyravi@mit.edu

critical medical anthropology; addiction and pain medicine; history of anesthesiology

Reis Castro, Luísa

luisarc@mit.edu

anthropology of science, technology and medicine; anthropology of biology and health sciences; global STS; environmental humanities; human and other animals; critical global health; public health and politics; epidemics; mosquitoes and arboviruses

Reiss Sorokin, Alex

rsalex@mit.edu

history and sociology of information technology; internet and platforms; digital histories; infrastructure and maintenance; privacy, control and surveillance; governance and regulation; law, science and society; social networks; algorithms

Rewegan, Alex

arewegan@mit.edu

anthropology of biology and medicine; feminist science studies; cannabis; drugs and society; plant-human relations; matter and materiality; naturecultures; capitalisms and value; affective ecologies; sciences of the mind and brain; race, gender, and science

Robbins, Gabrielle

glmr@mit.edu

anthropology; global STS; pharmaceuticals; medicine, technology, and politics; postcolonial science studies; North and East Africa

Ruamcharoen, Boyd

boydcr@MIT.EDU

air and other elements; materialisms; media theory; history of media and communication; media and environments; history of the environmental sciences, especially meteorology; anthropology of science and technology; social theory

Sobrino, Elena

esobrino@mit.edu

water; toxicity; ecology; green chemistry; deindustrialization; labor; racial capitalism; anthropology of value

Spektor, Michelle

spektor@mit.edu

biometrics; national identification systems; surveillance technologies; technology and politics; history of identification; resistance to technology and technology policy

Tylko, John

tylko@mit.edu

history of technology, innovation and entrepreneurship; history of aeronautics and spaceflight; Apollo and the Cold War

Walajahi, Hina

hwala@mit.edu

anthropology of the life sciences; experimentation; expertise and knowledge practices; science and technology studies; politics of inclusion; globalization; biotechnology

White-Nockleby, Caroline

cwn@mit.edu

STS; extraction; resilience; sustainability; temporality; infrastructures; remote sensing; United States; Andes

Wong, Jamie

jmjwong@mit.edu

entrepreneurship; big data; economization; smart cities; governance; experimentation; China

Wu, Di

wdi@mit.edu

Key words disability studies; crip technoscience; history and culture of computing/AI; biopolitics; People's Republic of China