Photograph of MIT dome
HOME | Directory | Site Map | Search:

Graduate Student INFO

Click on a student's name for more information.

Name Email Current Research Areas

Aidinoff, Marc

aidinoff@mit.edu

sociology of knowledge; decision making; organizational behavior; technocracy; history of the social sciences

Blackburn, Renée

rmblack@mit.edu

business and economic history; history of technology; automotive history; regulation; risk; industrial accidents; engineering; gender

Burks, Marie

meburks@mit.edu

history of the social sciences; history of the human sciences; modern US cultural and intellectual history

Chaudhuri, Ashawari

ashawari@mit.edu

anthropology; sociology of science; hybridity; nature and culture; material-semiotic study of Bt cotton

Christidi, Nadia

nadiach@mit.edu

anthropology of war and militarized science; history of conservation and environmentalism; environmental awareness; human-animal relations; encounters with difference; affect; the Middle East

Fadok, Richard

rfadok@mit.edu

anthropology of the life sciences; design anthropology; science and technology studies; history of biology and biotechnology; media studies

Immerman, Eleanor

immerman@mit.edu

sociology of arms control experimentation; nuclear policy and justice; sociology of knowledge; technocracy; neuroethics

Johnson, Amy

amyj@mit.edu

language and technology; linguistic and media anthropology; sociolinguistics; social media; CMC; parody; satire; humor

Kapsalakis, Lauren

lkapsa@mit.edu

history of the social sciences; cultural and transnational history; the laboratory and the field

Kim, Clare

clarek@mit.edu

history of mathematics; intellectual history; science and humanities; media studies

Kim, Grace

g_kim@mit.edu

anthropology of art and heritage; conservation; material and visual culture; museum studies

Kochhar, Rijul

rijul@mit.edu

anthropologies of waiting; antibiotic resistance; bacteriophages; biopolitics and biosecurity; Cold War technoscience; disability, toxicity, and injury; emergen(t)cy states; futures; life-forms; pharmaceuticals; philosophy and anthropology; planetary crises; zones of human/animal care; United States, India

Labruto, Nicole

nlabruto@mit.edu

energy studies; anthropology of biology; environmental anthropology; biofuels; global STS; Brazil; Mozambique

Laurence, Alison

laurence@mit.edu

animals on display; cultures of collecting; natural history; museums; material culture; American history; cultural history

Lee, Crystal

crystall@MIT.EDU

history of science; history of information; data visualization; visual and material culture; sociology of knowledge; war and militarized science; digital humanities

Lee, Jia Hui

jiahui@MIT.EDU

human and other animals; sensing; anthropology of science; anthrozoology; development; olfaction; global South; science and technology studies

Müller, Lucas

lmm@mit.edu

history of medicine; history of science; environmental history; global health; medical anthropology; Global STS; scientific expertise; international history

Mutlu, Burcu

bmutlu@mit.edu

new reproductive technologies; anthropology of science, technology and medicine; borders/boundaries; feminist theory

Ochigame, Rodrigo

ochigame@mit.edu

computing, algorithms, data, history of the mathematical sciences, history of the human sciences, multi-sited ethnography, political theory, Brazil, the Americas

Oviatt, Peter

oviatt@mit.edu

agriculture; land use; food systems; political ecology; soil conservation; domestication and commodification of fungi; mushrooms; mycorrhiza; history and anthropology of mycology

Reis Castro, Luísa

luisarc@mit.edu

anthropology of biology and health sciences; anthropology of science, technology and medicine; global STS; animal-human interactions; public health and politics; mosquitoes and vector control; mosquito-borne diseases

Robinson, Hilary

hc_r@mit.eduu

biological sciences; genomics; surveillance technology; computing; databases; forensics; stigma; race; gender; law; science and democracy; equality

Semel, Beth

bsemel@mit.edu

linguistic anthropology, medical anthropology, sound studies, mental health care, diagnostics, listening and speaking, voice, expertise, human-machine relations

Shapiro, Ryan

ryannoah@mit.edu

modern American history; history of medicine; history of science; animal-human interactions; environmental history; nuclear studies; war and society; surveillance; policing dissent; freedom of information

Shmuely, Shira

sshmuely@mit.edu

environmental history; human-animal relationships; law and science; law and society; critical theory

Sobrino, Elena

esobrino@mit.edu

anthropology, history of medicine and science, epistemology, embodiment, autism, science and law, democracy, human rights

Spektor, Michelle

spektor@mit.edu

biometrics; national identification systems; surveillance technologies; technology and politics; history of identification; resistance to technology and technology policy

Stayton, Erik

estayton@mit.edu

automation; artificial intelligence; mechanization of work; affective computing; natural language technologies; electronic privacy/security; data visualization; future of the human

Tylko, John

tylko@mit.edu

history of technology, innovation and entrepreneurship; history of aeronautics and spaceflight; Apollo and the Cold War

Webb, Claire

ciwebb@mit.edu

astronomy; history; feminist studies; philosophy; SETI; popular science

Wexler, Anna

annaw@mit.edu

neuroscience and society; brain machine interfaces; neuroengineering; bioethics; science and law; science and public policy

Wong, Jamie

jmjwong@mit.edu

cultural logics of value; anthropology of value(s) and valuation; financialization; startup culture; online platforms; platform society; sharing economy; collaborative consumption; algocracy; algorithmic living; venture capitalism; millennial capitalism; technocracy; online communities; humour; music in prisons; auto-tune