Photograph of MIT dome
HOME | Directory | Site Map | Search:

Graduate Student INFO

Click on a student's name for more information.

Name Email Current Research Areas

Aidinoff, Marc

aidinoff@mit.edu

sociology of knowledge; decision making; organizational behavior; technocracy; history of the social sciences

Blackburn, Renée

rmblack@mit.edu

business and economic history; history of technology; automotive history; regulation; risk; industrial accidents; engineering; gender

Burks, Marie

meburks@mit.edu

history of the social sciences; history of the human sciences; modern US cultural and intellectual history

Chaudhuri, Ashawari

ashawari@mit.edu

anthropology; sociology of science; hybridity; nature and culture; material-semiotic study of Bt cotton

Christidi, Nadia

nadiach@mit.edu

war and militarized science; history of conservation and environmentalism; environmental awareness; human-animal relations; encounters with difference; affect; the surreal; the Middle East; Iraq

Edoh, M. Amah

medoh@mit.edu

visual and material culture; anthropology of art and design; politics of representation; blackness; African-ness

Fadok, Richard

rfadok@mit.edu

anthropology of the life sciences; design anthropology; science and technology studies; history of biology and biotechnology; media studies

Johnson, Amy

amyj@mit.edu

language and technology; linguistic and media anthropology; sociolinguistics; social media; CMC; parody; satire; humor

Kapsalakis, Lauren

lkapsa@mit.edu

medical anthropology; risk studies & statistics; environmental illness; diagnostic categories; epistemic authority; graphic evidence; ethnography & subjectivity; Latin America

Kelkar, Shreeharsh

skelkar@mit.edu

sociology of computing, work and organizations; human-computer interaction; computer-supported cooperative work

Kim, Clare

clarek@mit.edu

history of mathematics; applied mathematics; science pedagogy

Kim, Grace

g_kim@mit.edu

anthropology of art and heritage; conservation; material and visual culture; museum studies

Kochhar, Rijul

rijul@mit.edu

anthropologies of waiting; antibiotic resistance; bacteriophages; biopolitics and biosecurity; Cold War technoscience; disability, toxicity, and injury; emergen(t)cy states; futures; life-forms; pharmaceuticals; philosophy and anthropology; planetary crises; zones of human/animal care; United States, India

Labruto, Nicole

nlabruto@mit.edu

energy studies; anthropology of biology; environmental anthropology; biofuels; global STS; Brazil; Mozambique

Laurence, Alison

laurence@mit.edu

animals on display; cultures of collecting; natural history; museums; material culture; American history; cultural history

Lee, Jia Hui

jiahui@MIT.EDU

human-non-human-animal relations; anthrozoology; post-conflict; international development; smell; rats

Li, Lan

lanli@mit.edu

history of medicine; China; integrative medicine; film and science; cultural anthropology of medicine and the body

Lin, Xi

elinxi@MIT.EDU

anthropology of the body; medicine and science; autism; disability; ethics and practices of care; China

Müller, Lucas

lmm@mit.edu

history of medicine; history of life sciences; global health; medical anthropology; Global STS; scientific expertise; regulation; history of twentieth-century Europe; global history

Mutlu, Burcu

bmutlu@mit.edu

new reproductive technologies; anthropology of science, technology and medicine; borders/boundaries; feminist theory

Oviatt, Peter

oviatt@mit.edu

agriculture; land use; food systems; political ecology; soil conservation; domestication and commodification of fungi; mushrooms; mycorrhiza; history and anthropology of mycology

Özden-Schilling, Canay

ozden@mit.edu

economic anthropology; electricity markets; energy; infrastructures

Özden-Schilling, Tom

tom_sa@mit.edu

environmental anthropology, visual culture, expertise, environmental history, neoliberal science, forest ecology, Canada, First Nations, cartography, informatics, anthropology of media

Reis Castro, Luísa

luisarc@mit.edu

anthropology of biology and health sciences; anthropology of science, technology and medicine; global STS; animal-human interactions; public health and politics; mosquitoes and vector control; mosquito-borne diseases

Robinson, Hilary

hc_r@mit.eduu

biological sciences; genomics; surveillance technology; computing; databases; forensics; stigma; race; gender; law; science and democracy; equality

Scaramelli, Caterina

scaramel@mit.edu

anthropology of water and of natural resources governance; politics and imaginaries of hydropower; eco-parks and natural reserves governance; environmental conflict and social movements; Turkey

Semel, Beth

bsemel@mit.edu

medical anthropology; linguistic anthropology; psychiatry; psychology; mental health; diagnostics; care/control; voice and speech; mediation; honesty

Shapiro, Ryan

ryannoah@mit.edu

modern American history; history of medicine; history of science; animal-human interactions; environmental history; nuclear studies; war and society; surveillance; policing dissent; freedom of information

Shmuely, Shira

sshmuely@mit.edu

environmental history; human-animal relationships; law and science; law and society; critical theory

Spektor, Michelle

spektor@mit.edu

biometrics; national identification systems; surveillance technologies; technology and politics; history of identification; resistance to technology and technology policy

Stayton, Erik

estayton@mit.edu

automation; artificial intelligence; mechanization of work; affective computing; natural language technologies; electronic privacy/security; data visualization; future of the human

Thakor, Mitali

mitalit@mit.edu

sex work; trafficking; feminist STS; critical surveillance and crime studies; digital STS

Thompson, Michaela

mjthomps@mit.edu

environmental history; history of biology; marine science; animal-human interactions; taxonomy; history of technology; apex predators

Tylko, John

tylko@mit.edu

history of technology, innovation and entrepreneurship; history of aeronautics and spaceflight; Apollo and the Cold War

Webb, Claire

ciwebb@mit.edu

astronomy; history; feminist studies; philosophy; SETI; popular science

Wexler, Anna

annaw@mit.edu

neuroscience and society; brain machine interfaces; neuroengineering; bioethics; science and law; science and public policy