IAP Independent Activities Period
overview participate organize offerings calendar  
for-credit subjects non-credit activities by category non-credit activities by sponsor non-credit activities by date

IAP 2010 Activity


Pleasures of Poetry
David Thorburn
No enrollment limit, no advance sign up
Participants welcome at individual sessions (series)

Reading and discussion of memorable poems led by Literature Section faculty and other MIT colleagues.

A packet containing all of the poems in the series is available from the Literature Office, 14N-407 and at http://lit.mit.edu.
Web: http://lit.mit.edu/
Contact: Jamie Graham, 14N-407, x8-5629, jamiecg@mit.edu
Sponsor: Literature

John Keats
Noel Jackson
Ode on Melancholy
Mon Jan 4, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Czeslaw Milosz
Stephen Tapscott
Campo del Fiori
A Poor Christian Looks at the Ghetto
Tue Jan 5, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Julia Ward Howe
Wyn Kelley
The Battle Hymn of the Republic
John Brown's Body
Wed Jan 6, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Wei Yingwu, Wei Zhuang
Alexander Wei
Wei Yingwu
Lamenting My Loss
Seeing Off My Daughter to the Yangs

Wei Zhuang
Thousands of Knots at Heart
Thu Jan 7, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

John Donne
Howard Eiland
The Sun Rising
A Valediction of Weeping
Fri Jan 8, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

TBA
Mary Fuller
Mon Jan 11, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Dunbar, James Weldon Johnson
Ricardo Pitts-Wiley
Tue Jan 12, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Louise Gluck, Adrienne Rich
Joel Burges
Louise Gluck
The Wild Iris

Adrienne Rich
From an Atlas of the Difficult World
Wed Jan 13, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Omar Khayyam
Mark Hessler
Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam
Thu Jan 14, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

TBA
James Buzard
Fri Jan 15, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Gerard Manley Hopkins
Anne Hudson
God's Grandeur
Pied Beauty
Tue Jan 19, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Seamus Heaney
John Hildebidle
Personal Helicon
From Clearances 3
Follower
Wed Jan 20, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Rainer Maria Rilke
Zach Bos
Orpheus, Eurydice, Hermes
Thu Jan 21, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Sir Thomas Wyatt
Arthur Bahr
Whoso List to Hunt
They Flee from Me
Fri Jan 22, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Alexander Pope
Alvin Kibel
An Essay on Man, epistle I
Mon Jan 25, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Matthew Arnold, Daljit Nagra
Kate Gyllensvard
Matthew Arnold
Dover Beach

Daljit Nagra
Look We Have Coming to Dover!
Journey
My Fatherís Dream of Return
Tue Jan 26, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Derek Walcott
Nora K. Delaney
Selections from Omeros
Wed Jan 27, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

E. E. Cummings
Gene Moore
Come Nothing to My Comparable Soul
Thu Jan 28, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304

Linda Gregg
Nadia Colburn
We Manage Most When We Manage Small
There She Is
Whole and Without Blessing
Growing Up
Fri Jan 29, 01-02:00pm, 14E-304
Latest update: 04-Dec-2009


MIT  
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Home | Overview | Participate | Organize | Offerings | Calendar | Search
Comments and questions to: iap-www@mit.edu Academic Resource Center, Room 7-104, 617-253-1668
Last update: 19 August 2010