Information Technology Governance Committee (ITGC)


IT Governance Committee (ITGC) Announcement

May 17, 2010

Dear Colleagues,

The IT@MIT Task Force identified a number of issues for focus, one of which was to create clear processes for decision-making. To begin to address these issues, we have chartered a small, focused IT Governance Committee.

The Information Technology Governance Committee will be a decision-making body that reports directly to the Provost and Executive Vice President and Treasurer. Membership in the committee will include:

Marilyn T. Smith, Head of Information Services and Technology Co-Chair

Professor Martin Schmidt, Associate Provost Co-Chair

Professor M. Frans Kaashoek, Associate Director of CSAIL Technology
Domain Expert

Professor Daniel Hastings, Dean for Undergraduate Education
Education Representative

Professor Claude Canizares, Vice President for Research and Associate Provost
Research Representative

Israel Ruiz, Vice President for Finance
Administrative Representative

Armand Doucette, Executive Director of Information Technology, Sloan School of Management
IT Representative (non-IS&T)

As part of this committee, these colleagues will work together to help drive development of an IS&T strategy for MIT, manage the IS&T investment portfolio, and charter and manage committees and working groups. Should you have any questions about the Committee, please feel free to contact Marilyn Smith and/or Martin Schmidt.

L. Rafael Reif Provost

Theresa M. Stone
Executive Vice President and Treasurer