home  contact us  site map

2013 Awards and Honors


Message to members of the American Physical Society's
Topical Group on Hadronic Physics, authorized by Craig Roberts,Secretary/Treasurer of GHP. *******************************************************

Dear GHP Members,


The Executive is pleased to announce that GHP nominees Boleslaw (Bolek) Wyslouch from MIT and Robert (Bob) Mawhinney from Columbia University have been elected to Fellowship in the APS Fellows.


The criterion for becoming an APS Fellow is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers.


Bolek was recognized for "for his leadership role in the PHOBOS experiment and in creating a world-class heavy ion research program within the CMS Collaboration at the LHC"; and Bob for "for his pioneering contributions using lattice techniques to the quantitative description and understanding of the physics of quarks and their role in the weak interactions and QCD phase diagram".


Please join us in congratulating Bolek and Bob for becoming APS Fellows.


Since the membership of GHP is around 500 it can nominate two APS Fellows every year. (For more details, see Sec.5 of the GHP's September 2012 newsletter .) Please advertise GHP among your colleagues so we can maintain and expand our membership, and continue to bring recognition to outstanding researchers working in hadronic physics.


Best regards,

Peter Petreczky, GHP Chair-elect and Chair of the 2013 GHP Fellowship Committee, for the GHP Executive.