The MacVicar Faculty Fellows

The MacVicar Faculty Fellows Program honors MIT's best teachers and mentors, who have made outstanding contributions to undergraduate education. Almost 90 MacVicar Faculty Fellows have been selected on the basis of merit through an annual nomination process beginning in 1992.

Fellows hail from all corners of MIT and represent a diverse range of academic disciplines. Together they form a small academy of scholars committed to exceptional instruction and innovation in education.  As fellows, faculty members receive annual scholar's allowances for a term of 10 years to assist them in developing ways to enrich the undergraduate learning experience.

President Charles M. Vest announced the establishment of the program in his inaugural address on May 10, 1991: "Educational success at MIT depends, above all else, on the commitment and inventiveness of our faculty. Excellence in undergraduate teaching must be rewarded and encouraged. To this end, we are establishing an endowed program to recognize faculty members who have profoundly influenced our students through their sustained and significant contributions to teaching and curriculum development."

MacVicar Fellows gather on MacVicar Day 2013 with Victoria MacVicar and Dean Daniel Hastings, photo by Dominick Reuter
MacVicar Fellows gather on MacVicar Day 2013 with Victoria MacVicar and Dean Daniel Hastings: (1st row) Victoria MacVicar, (2nd row) Rob Miller, Linda Griffith, Laura Schulz, Emma Teng, Daniel Hastings, (3nd row) Wit Busza, Kim Vandiver, Anne McCants, Larry Vale, (4th row) Alan Guth, Daniel Jackson, Jesus del Alamo, (5th row) Nancy Rose, Lowell Lindgren, Diana Henderson, George Verghese, Will Broadhead
Photo: Dominick Reuter

MacVicar Faculty Fellows in the news