Event Rental


Massachusetts Institute of Technology  /  MIT Museum
Building N51   265 Massachusetts Avenue   Cambridge, MA 02139
Open Daily 10am – 5pm  /  Closed Major Holidays

If the MIT Museum is closed due to snow, there will be a message here.

Lunch with Laureates and Luminaries (Series Archive)

During the Cambridge Science Festival the MIT Museum hosted free lunchtime discussions with award winning MIT scientists. Click the links below for archived videos of their conversations with Museum visitors.

2011 Lunch with a Luminary
Peter Diamond - May 2, 2011 - Winner of the 2010 Nobel Prize in Economics for his work on the analysis of markets with search frictions
Linda Griffith - May 3, 2011
- 2006 winner of the prestigious MacArthur Foundation “genius” award for her pioneering work shaping the frontiers of tissue engineering and synthetic regenerative technologies
Leon Cooper - May 4, 2011
- Winner of the 1972 Nobel Prize in Physics for his studies on the theory of superconductivity (completed while still in his 20s!)
Walter Gilbert - May 5, 2011 - Winner of the 1980 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his contributions concerning the determination of base sequences in nucleic acids
John Harbison - May 6, 2011 - Winner of the 1989 MacArthur Foundation “genius” award and 1987 Pulitzer Prize for musical composition

2010 Lunch with a Laureate
Robert C. Merton - April 26, 2010 - Winner of the 1997 Economic Sciences Prize for his work on the valuation of stock options
H. Robert Horvitz - April 27, 2010 - Winner of the 2002 Nobel Prize in Medicine for his studies of genes that control development and cell death
Jack Szostak - April 28, 2010 - Winner of the 2009 Nobel Prize in Medicine for showing how chromosomes are safely copied and protected against degradation
Eric Chivian - April 29, 2010 - co-founder of the International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, which received the 1985 Nobel Peace Prize
Richard Schrock - April 30, 2010 - Winner of the 2005 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for developing the metathesis method in organic synthesis

2009 Lunch with a Luminary
Frank Wilczek - April 27, 2009 - Winner of the 2004 Nobel Prize in Physics for the discovery of asymptotic freedom in the theory of the strong interaction
John Ochsendorf - April 28, 2009 - 2008 MacArthur "Genius Grant" winner for his work studying alternative engineering traditions ranging from the ancient to the medieval
Barbara Liskov - April 29, 2009 (video not available) - Winner of the 2008 Turing Award for her work in the design of computer programming languages and software methodology
Angela Belcher - April 30, 2009 - Recipient of a 2004 MacArthur Fellowship for her work on biomaterials, biomolecular materials, organic-inorganic interfaces and solid state chemistry
Tyler Jacks - May 1, 2009 - Director of the Koch Institute of Integrative Cancer Research

MIT Museum HomeMultimediaSoap Box Webcast

MIT MUSEUM   265 Massachusetts Avenue   Building N51   Cambridge, MA 02139
P: 617.253.5927   F: 617.253.8994   museuminfo@mit.edu
Copyright © 2008-2014 Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Accessibility Logo