Music Department



Brett Abigana, Lecturer in Music
Vartan Aghababian, Lecturer in Music
Adam Boyles, Director of MIT Symphony Orchestra
Corinna Campbell, Lecturer in Music
Justin Casinghino, Lecturer in Music
Peter Child, Professor of Music
Michael Cuthbert, Associate Professor of Music
William Cutter, Director of Choral Activities
David Deveau, Senior Lecturer in Music
John Harbison, Institute Professor
Frederick Harris, Director of Wind and Jazz Ensembles
Mark Harvey, Lecturer in Music
Elaine Kwon, Lecturer in Music
Lowell Lindgren, Professor of Music
Keeril Makan, Associate Professor of Music
Martin Marks, Senior Lecturer in Music
Teresa Neff, Lecturer in Music
Emily Richmond Pollock, Assistant Professor of Music
Jean Rife, Lecturer in Music
George Ruckert, Senior Lecturer in Music
Elena Ruehr, Lecturer in Music
Garo Saraydarian, Lecturer in Music
Charles Shadle, Senior Lecturer in Music
Christine Southworth,, Lecturer in Music
Patricia Tang, Associate Professor of Music
Marcus Thompson, Robert R. Taylor Professor of Music
Lamine Touré, Co-director, Rambax
Peter Whincop, Lecturer in Music
Pamela Wood, Senior Lecturer in Music
Evan Ziporyn, Kenan Sahin Professor of Music


Major: Michael Cuthbert
Minor: Martin Marks
Concentration: Emily Richmond Pollock
Transfer credit: Pamela Wood

Professor Emeriti

Jeanne Bamberger
Steven Erdely
Ellen T. Harris
Lowell Lindgren

Affiliated Artists

Travis Alford, PIano Lab
Kenneth Amis, Assistant Director, Wind Ensemble
Leah Bartell, Violin
Luretta Bybee, Voice
Mark Bucklles, Piano Lab
Lynn Chang, Violin
Jeff Covell, Jazz piano
Kerry Deal, Voice
Rebecca Dirksen, Mellon Fellow Post Doc
Tatyana Dudochkin, Piano
Donal Fox, Piano
Karen Harvey, Choral Accompanist
Sue-Ellen Hershman, Flute
Thomas Hill, Clarinet
Benjamin Houge, Research
Eileen Huang, collaborative pianist
Fernando Huergo, bass
Igor Iwanek, Piano Lab
Keala Kaumeheiwa, Jazz Combos
Eugene Kim, Cello
Timothy McFarland, Piano
Benito Meza, clarinet
Florie Namir, Piano Lab
Heng-Jin Park, Piano
Rahael Popper-Keizer, Cello
Jared Redmond, Piano Lab
Michael Reynolds, cello
Marilyn Roth, Piano
Yukiko Sekino, Piano
Philipp Staeudlin, Saxophone
Mark Stewart,
Joseph Turbessi, Choral Accompanist
Sarita Uranovsky, Violin
Janice Weber, Piano
Michael Zaretsky, Viola


MIT Music and Theater Arts Office

Robin Carleton, Administrative Officer
Elizabeth Connors, Senior Administrative Assistant
Stephanie Muto, Financial Assistant
Tracy Heather Strain, Administrative Assistant

Concerts Office

Clarise Snyder, Director
Vanessa Gardner, Ensemble/Event Manager
Jillian Scales, Ensemble/Event Manager
Victor Belanger, Piano Technician

Back to top




The Music faculty never fail to impart excitement and passion for the material that they teach. This enthusiasm inspires students to take an active role in their musical studies whether they are inside the classroom, attending a concert, or performing on stage.”

Simone Ovsey ’11