Massachusetts Institute of Technology Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Department of Chemical Engineering
Myerson Group
Safety & Training
Job Openings
For Members
Contact Us

The Myerson Group


Professor Allan S. Myerson

Allan S. Myerson is Professor of the Practice of Chemical Engineering in the Department of Chemical Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.    Prior to his position at MIT he was the Philip Danforth Amour Professor of Engineering in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at the Illinois Institute of Technology (IIT) in Chicago where he served as Provost and Senior Vice President (January 2003-June 2008) and Dean of Engineering and Science (January 2000-January 2003).  Professor Myerson also served on the faculty at Polytechnic University (NY), Georgia Institute of Technology and the University of Dayton.  Professor Myerson was educated at Columbia University (BS) the University of Virginia (MS and PhD).
Professor Myerson’s research focuses on separations processes in the chemical and pharmaceutical industry with an emphasis on crystallization from solution, nucleation, polymorphism and pharmaceutical manufacturing.    He is a principal investigator in the Novartis-MIT Center for Continuous Manufacturing and also serves as an associate editor of “Crystal Growth and Design” a journal published by the American Chemical Society. He has published 5 books including the “Handbook of Industrial Crystallization” 215 papers and is the inventor on 40 US patents.
Professor Myerson is a member of the Scientific Advisory Boards of GenSyn Technologies Inc., Continuus Pharmaceuticals, Goddard Laboratories Inc. and Blue Spark Technologies. Professor Myerson has consulted for approximately 100 companies worldwide.  Previous awards received by Professor Myerson include the Virginia Engineering Foundation Alumni Achievement Award (2000) ,  the American Chemical Society Award in Separations Science and Technology (2008) and AIChE’s Clarence G. Gerhold Award  in (2015).


Current Group Members






Mohammad Azad Postdoc Associate E19-532 617-324-3943
Naomi Briggs Postdoc Associate E19-534 617-324-4401
Jan Cornevin Research Scientist E19-536 617-324-4525
Yuqing Cui Ph.D. Candidate E19-562 617-324-8460
Leia Dwyer Ph.D. Candidate E19-515 617-258-7031
Samir Kulkarni Postdoc Associate E19-528 617-253-6675
Tsai-ta "Chris" Lai Ph.D. Candidate E19-562 617-324-8460
Jicong Li Ph.D. Candidate E19-562 617-324-8460
Jasdeep Mandur Postdoc Associate E19-528 617-253-6675
Marcus O'Mahony Postdoc Associate E19-536 617-324-4525
Juan G. Osorio Postdoc Associate E19-532 617-324-3943
Nima Yazdan Panah Postdoc Associate E19-534 617-324-4401
You Peng Ph.D. Candidate

E19-534 617-324-4401
Siva Rama Krishna Perala Postdoc Associate E19-532 617-324-3943
Jennifer Schall Ph.D. Student E19-562 617-324-8460
Carlos Alberto Pons Siepermann Ph.D. Candidate E19-515 617-258-7031
Jelena Stojakovic Postdoc Associate E19-528 614-253-6675
Li Tan Ph.D. Candidate E19-562 617-324-8460
Shankul Vartak Ph.D. Student E19-562 617-324-8460
"Jennie" Qingying Zeng Ph.D Student E19-562 617-324-8460


The Myerson Group, 77 Massachusetts Ave, Rm 66-568, Cambridge, MA 02139 | Tel: 617.452.3790 | updated: July 17, 2015