Henry I. Smith

Henry I. Smith received the BS degree from Holy Cross College in 1958, and the MS and Ph.D. degrees from Boston College in 1960 and 1966, respectively.  From 1960 to 1963 he served as an officer in the US Air Force.  He was an Assistant Professor of Physics at Boston College, 1966-68. From 1968 to 1980, Dr. Smith was at MIT Lincoln Laboratory where he worked on surface-acoustic-wave devices and pioneered the development of techniques for fabricating nanometer structures.  He founded the Submicrometer Technology Group at Lincoln Lab in 1977 and served as its leader until 1980 when he left to pursue full-time teaching and research at MIT.  He was appointed a Professor of Electrical Engineering and Director of the NanoStructures Laboratory, which he founded.  From 1990 to 2005 he held the Joseph F. and Nancy P. Keithley Chair in Electrical Engineering. He relinquished his tenured chair in 2005 but continues to teach and supervise graduate-student research at MIT. Prof. Smith’s research includes nanofabrication, electronic and photonic devices, and a wide range of applications of nanostructures.

Prof. Smith and his co-workers are responsible for a number of innovations in nanoscale science and engineering, including:  comformable-photomask lithography, x-ray lithography, the phase-shift mask, the attenuating phase shifter, spatial-phase-locked e-beam lithography, achromatic-interference lithography, spatial-frequency doubling, coherent-diffraction lithography, immersion photolithography, zone-plate-array lithography, absorbance-modulation optical lithography, interferometric alignment, graphoepitaxy, subboundary entrainment, templated self-assembly, nanomembrane assembly, and a variety of quantum-effect, short-channel, single-electron, nanomagnetic, photonic-crystal and microphotonic devices. Prof. Smith holds over 30 US patents and has published over 400 technical articles. Further information on the Nanostructures Lab at MIT, including publications, can be found at the web site http://www.rle.mit.edu/NSL.

Prof. Smith is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the IEEE, the OSA and a member of the National Academy of Engineering, the APS, AVS, MRS and Sigma Xi. He is the recipient of the Cledo Brunetti Award of the IEEE, the Baccus Award of SPIE, the Nano 50 Innovator Award, the Robert H. Hill Memorial Award and a citation from the Electrochemical Society.  He has been a visiting scientist at: University College, London (1972); Thompson CSF, Paris (1974); The Norwegian Institute of Technology (1976), Nippon Telegraph and Telephone Corp., (1990), the University of Glasgow (1990), the University of Canterbury, NZ (1999), the University of Goettingen (1999), and the Max Planck Institute (1999) under a Humboldt Research Award for Senior US Scientists.

Prof. Smith serves on the International Advisory Board of the MacDiarmid Institute of New Zealand; the Advisory Committee of the International Conference on Electron, Ion, and Photon Beam Technology and Nanofabrication; the International Program Committee of the Micro and Nanoengineering Conference, and the Scientific Advisory Board of Nantero, Inc., NanoNex and NM2.  He is the founder and President of an MIT spin-off company, Lumarray, Inc. and Chairman of Principia Technology Group, an international consulting and technology partner.  At MIT Prof. Smith serves as the Faculty Athletic Representative and as Mentor for the Women’s Varsity Tennis Team.

Prof. Smith’s nonprofessional interests include tennis and yearly trips, in both winter and summer, to Nunavik in the Canadian Arctic, for hiking, photography and fly fishing for salmon and Arctic char. He serves as an advisor to an Inuit-owned outfitting company in the Arctic village of Tasiujaq (see http://www.leafriversport.com). Prof. Smith and his wife, Mary Anne, reside in Sudbury, MA.  They have three children, Elizabeth, Timothy, and Eileen, and five grandchildren, Andrew, Duncan, and Cameron Freedman and Hannah and Zachary Babbitz.

Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
NanoStructures Laboratory

E-mail: hismith@nano.mit.edu Website