MIT philosophy: people: faculty

philosophy faculty| affiliated faculty | visiting faculty | postdoctoral fellows |faculty bibliographies | Richard Cartwright, 1925-2010 | Irving Singer, 1925-2015

philosophy faculty

Sylvain Bromberger, professor emeritus
philosophy of language, philosophy of science

Alex Byrne, professor and chair (on leave fall 16)
philosophy of mind, epistemology, metaphysics

Caspar Hare, professor
ethics, metaphysics

Sally Haslanger, Ford professor
metaphysics, epistemology, ancient philosophy, feminist theory

Justin Khoo, assistant professor, Class of 1948 Career Development Chair
philosophy of language, metaphysics, philosophical logic

Vann McGee, professor
philosophical logic, philosophy of mathematics, philosophy of language

Agustín Rayo, professor
philosophical logic, philosophy of language, metaphysics

Tamar Schapiro, associate professor
ethics, Kant, moral psychology, philosophy of action

Kieran Setiya, professor and acting chair (fall 16)
ethics, epistemology, philosophy of mind

Brad Skow, Laurance S. Rockefeller associate professor
metaphysics, philosophy of science, philosophy of physics

Jack Spencer, assistant professor
metaphysics, philosophy of mind, philosophy of language

Robert Stalnaker, professor emeritus
philosophy of mind, philosophy of language, metaphysics

Judith Thomson, professor emeritus
moral philosophy, metaphysics

Roger White, professor
philosophy of science, epistemology, metaphysics

Stephen Yablo, David W. Skinner professor
metaphysics, philosophy of mind, philosophical logic, philosophy of language

visiting faculty

Ryan Preston-Roedder, visiting assistant professor
moral and political philosophy, philosophy of religion, medical ethics, philosophy and literature

postdoctoral associates

Emily McWilliams
epistemology, philosophy of mind, philosophy of psychology, feminist philosophy

Alexander Prescott-Couch
philosophy of social science, ethics, political philosophy

affiliated faculty

Noam Chomsky (linguistics)

Kai von Fintel (linguistics)

Danny Fox (linguistics)

Irene Heim (linguistics)

Sabine Iatridou (linguistics)

Roger Schwarzschild (linguistics)

MIT philosophy
updated: 26-aug-16