Giving Opportunities

Your gift to the Department of Physics is invaluable and deeply appreciated. We offer naming opportunities for capital gifts in support of our departmental priorities, and we accept gifts in all amounts to any one of our departmental funds listed below. We also welcome deferred gifts and other gift-planning vehicles, which we understand can often make more substantial gifts possible.

Naming Opportunities

Endowed Professorship $4,000,000
Career Development Professorship $2,500,000
Named Laboratory
For a newly hired faculty member
Endowed Graduate Fellowship*
Annual tuition and stipend
Expendable Graduate Fellowship*
Tuition and stipend for five years
Graduate Fellowship*
Tuition and stipend for one year

Gifts in all amounts are invaluable to the following Department funds

Alumni Fellowship Fund for Physics* (2738023)  
Department of Physics Unrestricted (2657500)
Provides support to one-time and short-term goals of the Department.
Arthur Kerman Fellowship Fund (3302540)
Gifts of alumni/ae and friends to support fellowships in the Physics Department, with a preference for fellows conducting research in Theoretical Physics. This endowed fellowship is in honor of Emeritus Professor Arthur Kerman.
Barbara E. Thomas Fund (3312250)
This fund supports graduates students in the Department of Physics.  This fund was made in memory of Mrs. Barbara E. Thomas in dedication to the physics department support staff---- past, present and future.
Jerome I. Friedman Fellowship Fund (3874300)
Gifts to establish a graduate fellowship named for Professor Jerome Friedman, Nobel Laureate, Institute Professor and former Head of the Department of Physics.
John P Huchra (1970) Memorial Fund (2732182)
Gifts from family and friends to establish a fund in memory of John P. Huchra, to support travel costs for students travelling to the Magellan Telescopes in Chile, with a preference to support undergraduate students.

* Matching gift opportunity Note: Links above will go to the MIT Giving website


For more information, please contact:

Ms. Erin McGrath Tribble
Director of Development
MIT Department of Physics
Bldg. 4-309