MIT Political Science Alums in the News

Tom Wolf — PhD 1981 — was elected governor of Pennsylvania (Nov. 4, 2014.) Read more about Dr. Wolf, and try either NPR or the CBS Local News for media coverage of the race.

Paul Walker — PhD 1978 — will be presented the 'Right Livelihood Award' Dec. 2nd in the Swedish Parliament, for "working tirelessly to rid the world of chemical weapons." Often referred to as the ‘Alternative Nobel Prizes’ the awards “honour and support those offering practical and exemplary answers to the most urgent challenges facing us today.” Dr. Walker is one of just four Laureates worldwide to be honored this year. more...

Stephen Rathgeb Smith — PhD 1988 — announced as the next Executive Director of the American Political Science Association, beginning September 2013. Currently serving as the Louis A. Bantle Chair in Public Administration at the Maxwell School of Syracuse University, he is renowned for his research and publications on nonprofit organizations, public management, and social policy. more...

Sharon K. Weiner — PhD 1998 — recipient of the National Academy of Public Administration’s 2012 Louis Brownlow Book Award, for her book entitled Our Own Worst Enemy?: Institutional Interests and the Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons Expertise (MIT Press, 2011). This award recognizes outstanding contributions on topics of wide contemporary interest to practitioners and scholars in the field of public administration. Generally, it is made to an author who provides new insights, fresh analysis, and original ideas that contribute to the understanding of the role of governmental institutions and how they can most effectively serve the public. more...

Joshua Rovner — PhD 2008 — recipient of the 2012 International Security Studies Best Book Award, for his book entitled Fixing the Facts: National Security and the Politics of Intelligence (Cornell University Press, 2011). This award recognizes an outstanding contribution — both methodologically and substantively — to the understanding of a challenging and understudied area of our field. This book also recieved the 2011 Edgar S. Furniss Book Award, given annually to first books that make an outstanding contribution to the study of national and international security.

Henry Brady - PhD 1980 - recipient of the 2012 Political Methodology Career Achievement Award, this award recognizes an outstanding career of intellectual accomplishment andservice to the profession in the field of Political Methodology.

Sophie Meunier - PhD 1998- decorated by the French Government as a "Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Palmes Academiques."

Mark Katz- PhD 1982- latest publication Leaving without Losing: The War on Terror after Iraq and Afghanistan is now available from Johns Hopkins University Press.

Kelly Greenhill- PhD 2004- awarded the International Studies Association (ISA) Best Book Award for 2011 for her single-authored book Weapons of Mass Migration: Forced Displacement, Coercion, and Foreign Policy.

Major General Gregg Martin- appointed the President of the National Defense University in Washington, DC.

Howard Wolpe- PhD 1967- passed away at age 71. Former U.S. Rep. Howard Wolpe, a Michigan Democrat who played a key role in the 1986 passage of the federal anti-apartheid act that imposed economic sanctions on South Africa. more...

Renée Marlin-Bennett's- PhD 1987- recently released book, Alker and IR: Global Studies in an Interconnected World, presents a set of visionary and original essays from scholars who have been profoundly influenced by Alker's approach to global studies. more...

Karen Alter- PhD 1996-won a Guggenheim for Law.

Susan S. Fainstein - PhD 1971- The Just City, will be published summer 2010 by Cornell University Press. It examines theories of justice, evaluates urban development policies in New York, London, and Amsterdam in light of general principles derived from those theories, then concludes by providing a list of specific criteria by which to frame policies that conform to broad concepts of justice.

Brian Baker- SM 1992 - recently took a job with the US Food and Drug Administration as Center Director for FDA's Engineering and Analytical Center in Winchester, MA.  Prior to that, served as Foreign Area Officer, Middle East with the US Army Corps of Engineers retiring in 2005.

Inger Weibust- PhD 2000- Assistant Professor at the Norman Paterson School of International Affairs, Carleton University, recently published Green Leviathan:  The Case for a Federal Role in Environmental Policy (Ashgate, 2009).

Steve Amberg - PhD 1987-Fulbright Distinguished Professor of American Studies at the Center for the Study of the Americas at the Copenhagen Business School during the 2009-2010 academic year.Returned to the Department of Political Science at the University of Texas at San Antonio where writing about how the U.S., Denmark, and other highly developed societies re-create employment relationships as political and market conditions evolve.

MG Gregg F. Martin - PHD 1992- appointed as Commandant of the Army War College in Carlisle Barracks, PA. He was recently the Commander at Fort Leonard Wood.  Taught at West Point, ran the Corps level Engineer Brigade in the Iraq invasion, commanded an Engineering division in the Northwest, and was commandant of the Engineer School after leaving us.

Carl Hensler - PhD 1971- retired after 18 years as Distinguished Engineer at Sun Microsystems.  Continues his computer industry activities and flies his airplane around the West. 

Deborah Hensler - PhD 1973- Judge John W. Ford Professor of Dispute Resolution at Stanford Law School.  Her current research is on the globalization of class action litigation.

Rob Stowe - PhD 1990 - Executive Director of the Harvard Environmental Economics Program and Manager of the Harvard Project on International Climate Agreements, both based in the Kennedy School. The Project and its network of scholars conduct research and policy outreach on options for the next international climate regime.