MIT Political Science Student Awards


Leyatt Betre '16 (political science & physics), Marina Crowe '16 (political science), Linda Jiang '16 (biology and mathematics, minor in applied international studies), Joseff Kolman '17 (political science & physics), Taylor Rose '16 (political science & management science), Jesus Moreno '16 (materials science and engineering, minors in political science and economics), Kristen Murray '16 (aeronautics and astronautics, minor in political science) named 2015 Burchard Scholars.


Amanda Rothschild awarded the Harry Middleton Fellowship in Presidential Studies.This fellowship, created by Lady Bird Johnson to support scholarship in presidential studies and to honor Harry Middleton, is awarded to up to two scholars annually whose research highlights how history can inform current and future policy issues.

Yiqing Xu
awarded the 2014 Society for Political Methodology’s John T. Williams Dissertation Prize. According to the Prize Committee, Yiqing’s dissertation’s "main methodological contribution" is “the development of a new method for causal inference in time-series cross-sectional data, which he refers to as the ‘Generalized Synthetic Control Method.’”

Laura Chirot awarded a Boren Fellowship for the proposed project "Private enterprise development and foreign investment" in Vietnam.

Halide Bey (’15 Biology; Political Science), John W. Halloran, Jr. (’15 Political Science) & Sofia Essayan-Perez (’15 Brain and Cognitive sciences; minor, applied international studies) named 2014 Burchard Scholars

Noel Anderson, Mark Bell, Alec Worsnop, and Brian Haggerty awarded the Smith Richardson Foundation World Politics and Statecraft Fellowship for 2014. Awards are granted to support the research and writing of policy-relevant dissertations through funding of fieldwork, archival research, and language training, with preference to those projects that could direclty inform U.S. policy debates and thinking.

Ben Armstrong, Elizabeth Dekeyser and Nina McMurray each received Honorable Mentions from the National Science Foundation's (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program. The NSF received over 14,000 applications and offered only 2,000 awards (including Honorable Mentions).


Joseph Torigian- Awarded an Individual Advanced Research Opportunities (IARO) Program fellowship, applied to research in Russia using the Soviet archives.

Ben Morse- The International Growth Centre funded his proposal, with co-PIs Robert Blair (Yale University, Phd Candidate, Political Science) and Sabrina Karim (Emory University, Phd Candidate, Political Science), to run a research project on Security Sector Reform in Liberia to begin in summer 2014.


Erica Dobbs- Mellon/ACLS writing grant

Dean Knox- National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program

Laura Chirot- National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program

Amanda Rothschild- National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellowship Program Honorable Mention

Jeremy Ferwerda- awarded SSRC IDRF, Krupp Fellowship

Joshua Shifrinson- Predoctoral Research Fellow at the Institute for Security and Conflict Studies at the Elliott School of International Affairs (GWU), Truman Library research grant, a Tobin Project Nat'l Security Fellowship, and an O'donnell research grant from the Scowcroft Institute.

Sameer Lalwani- Smith Richardson Fellowship


Amanda Rothschild- finalist for the Undergraduate Awards of Ireland & Northern Ireland for her essay on, "When is the international community justified in using force to protect human rights?"

Paul Staniland- won the 2011 Kenneth N. Waltz Award from the APSA's International Security and Arms Control section for best dissertation

Keren Fraiman- awarded USIP Peace Scholar Award and a Schusterman Israel Scholar Award

Greg Distelhorst- awarded 2011 National Science Foundation Doctoral Dissertation Research Improvement Grant - Political Science Program

Timea Pal- Graduate Dissertation Research Fellowships from the Minda de Gunzburg Center for European Studies, Harvard University.

David Weinberg- George C. Marshall Foundation / Baruch Fund for excellence in US diplomacy or military history

Keren Fraiman- Schusterman Israel Scholars Award and a United Stated Institute of Peace Fellowship

Miranda Priebe- Smith Richardson award

Tobias Harris- awarded a Fulbright Scholarship for field research

Josh Shifrinson- 2011-2012 awarded a research fellowship with the International Security Program at the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs & a Woodrow Wilson Center Title VIII Research Grant; Tobin Project National Security Fellowship

Nathan Black- 2011-2012 awarded a research fellowship with the International Security Program at the Belfer Center for Science and International Affairs; Smith Richardson Foundation World Politics and Statecraft Fellowship; Tobin Project National Security Fellowship

Peter Krause- 2011-2012 awarded a Post-doctoral fellowship at the Crown Center for Middle East Studies at Brandeis University to be a Junior Research Fellow

Peter Swartz- awarded research funding from Indiana University Research Center for Chinese Politics and Business: Initiative on China and Global Governance for the proposal: "Making Markets both at Home and Abroad:  The Evolution of China's Futures Exchange for Copper".

Sameer Lalwani- awarded a Carroll L. Wilson Award for "The War Within: Explaining State Strategies of Counterinsurgency and Consolidation (A Pakistan Case Study)."

Nicholas Martin- awarded a Carroll L. Wilson Award for "The Role of State Ownership in the Environmental and Technological Upgrading of China's Coal and Electricity Industries."

Samantha Kacos- State Department Critical Language Scholarship this summer for study of Persian/Farsi in Dushanbe, Tajikistan

Joseph Adams- State Department  Critical Language Scholarship for Arabic, and am a finalist for the Fulbright (Syria).

Kristin Fabbe- awarded Mellon/ACLS dissertation completion fellowship.