MIT Rewards and Recognition Program Infinite Mile Award
MIT Rewards and Recognition Program

Infinite Mile Awards

The Infinite Mile Awards are intended to support the objectives of each organizational area within the Institute. Below are categories of awards criteria reflecting the work, values, and behaviors specific to our group of staff. Annual Infinite Mile Awards for our area have been presented at awards ceremonies held in June of 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016.

General Description

The Infinite Mile Awards for our area are in the range of $1,000 for individual recipients. For individual members of an award-winning team, the amount will be determined by the size of the team.

When preparing a nomination, be sure to provide specific examples of how the nominee(s) have demonstrated some (but not necessarily all) of the characteristics listed below. Infinite Mile Awards are given in the following four categories to individuals and teams for exceptional service.

Public, Customer, or Client Relations

Problem Solving and Leadership


Community Building

Infinite Mile award recipients

Diane Tavitian, Elizabeth Thompson, Sarah Gallop, and Jim Morgan were 2001 recipients of the Infinite Mile Award.

mit logo