S&EF Directory

Directory of Science & Engineering Faculty in Selected Institutions of Higher Education

include me
related links
site map
contact us


James Epperson

Assistant Professor
Mathematics & Statistics
Texas Tech University
Box 41042
Lubbock, Texas 79409-1042

Phone: 806-742-1423
FAX: 806-742-1112
Email: epperson@math.ttu.edu



B.S. Texas A&M--Commerce 1987
Ph.D. The University of Texas at Austin 1996


Description of Research
My research interests in undergraduate mathematics education rest in three areas: examining issues of equity and access into mathematics-based disciplines, preparation of pre-service mathematics teachers, and curricular issues in undergraduate mathematics courses.

My formal research area in mathematics is percolation theory. The incipient percolation cluster in two-dimensions is fractal and has Hausdorff dimension very close to that of the Sierpinski carpet. My work focuses on examining the critical phenomena arising from a percolation on randomized models of the Sierpinski carpet.

Recent Papers or Publications
Supporting Minority Mathematics Achievement: The Emerging Scholars Program at The University of Texas at Austin, (with R. Asera, C. Muller, S. Moreno, and L. Wyatt),Journal of Women and Minorities in Science and Engineering, to appear Volume 5, No 2, 1998.

Advanced Placement Mathematics Vertical Teams Toolkit, (one of the primary authors with D. Holtzman, S. May, D. Sandow, and D. Stanley), published by The College Board and The Charles A. Dana Center, May 1998.

Special Honors or Awards
Texas Project NExT Fellow, Mathematical Association of America, 1998.

Project NExT (National ) Fellow, Mathematical Association of America, 1998.

Dodd Teaching Excellence Award, 1991 & 1994.

Department of Mathematics Teaching Excellence Award, 1993.

Continuing Graduate Opportunity Fellowship, 1992 1993.

David Brunton, Jr., Graduate Fellowship in Mathematics, 1992.

Graduate Opportunity Fellowship, 1987 1989.

Outstanding Senior Physics Major Award (TAMUC), 1987.

Academic AllAmerican Collegiate Award, 1987.

Mathematics Excellence Scholarship (TAMUC), 1986.

Whos Who Among Students in American Universities, 1986.

United States Achievement Academy Scholarship, 1985.

Presidential Merit Scholarship (TAMUC), 1984 1987.

top of page

home | members | institutions | include me | bulletin board | search | order | feedback | links | sitemap | contact us


  Copyright © MIT 2000
Sponsored by the MIT Provost's Office
Last updated on 8/23/2000 by www-provost@mit.edu