Skip to Content
Home  |  Contact Us  |  WebSIS  |  Search:

GPA Calculation and Unit Conversion

How the Grade Point Average (GPA) Is Calculated

The MIT grade point average is calculated on a 5.0 scale. Separate grade point averages are calculated for a student's undergraduate and graduate records. Subjects with level U are included in the undergraduate grade point average. Subjects with levels H, G and N are included in the graduate grade point average.

The following are not included in the calculation:

Other considerations:

Grades used in the calculation are weighted as follows: A=5, B=4, C=3, D=2, F=0, O=0. To calculate a GPA, total all the units of "A" level work and multiply this number by 5. Total all units of "B" level work and multiply by 4 and so on. Add the results and divide by the total number of units. If the hundredth place is 5 or above, the tenth place rounds up (for example, 4.75 becomes 4.8). If the hundredth place is 4 or below, the tenth place does not round up (for example, 4.74 becomes 4.7).

Conversion to a 4.0 Scale

Substitute the following values in the calculation above: A=4, B=3, C=2, D=1, F=0, O=0.

Note: Conversion to a 4.0 scale is not valid for students who attended MIT prior to 1970.

Where the GPA Is Displayed

Your cumulative grade point average displays on your grade report (internal record) and on your transcript (external record).

Your term grade point average displays only on your grade report (internal record).

How to Convert MIT Units to Semester Hours

3 MIT credit units = 1 semester hour
A 12-unit class such as 18.01 would translate into 4 semester hours.