Sherry Turkle

Abby Rockefeller Mauze Professor of the Social Studies of Science and Technology
Director, MIT Initiative on Technology and Self
Program in Science, Technology, and Society
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA 02139

Photo 2010


Sherry Turkle received her Bachelors of Arts summa cum laude in Social Studies from Harvard University and her Ph.D. in Sociology and Personality Psychology from Harvard University.




Selected Affiliations and Accomplishments


2015                 Received honorary doctorate from Franklin and Marshall College (Lancaster, PA)  

2015, 2002, 1997      World Economic Forum Fellow, Davos, Switzerland

2014-                American Academy of Arts and Sciences Fellow

2014                  Named one of Boston’s top “visionaries, idealists, and thinkers” by Boston Magazine, as part of their profile of “the power of ideas.”

2013                  Awarded the Centennial Medal from Harvard University’s Graduate School of Arts and Sciences

2013                   Named a “Literary Light” by the Associates of the
Boston Public Library  (Boston, MA)

2012                   Received The Walter Ong Award for “exemplary and groundbreaking scholarship” from The Media Ecology Association

2012                 Received honorary degree of Doctor of Science
                            from The College of the Holy Cross (Worcester, MA)  

1987-              Boston Psychoanalytic Society and Institute
                           Graduate and Affiliate Member  

1978-               Commonwealth of Massachusetts
                            Licensed Clinical Psychologist  

2002                 Named one of the Top Ten Wired Women by ABC

2000                Named one of Time Magazine's Innovators of the Internet

1997                 Named one of top 50 Cyber Elite by Time Digital Magazine

1997                  Selected member of "Computer 200," an exhibit of the leaders of the computer
                             industry. Exhibited at the Association of Computing Machinery's 50th Anniversary meeting and exhibited and archived at the Boston Computer Museum.  

1985                    Selected member of Esquire Register "America's New Leadership Class,"
                               Esquire Magazine

1984                    Selected "Woman of the Year,"  Ms. Magazine

1999-2007        Harvard College Visiting Committee on Information Technology

1998-2003         AAUW Educational Foundation
                                 Co-chair of Commission on Technology, Gender, and Teacher Education


Other Professional Activities (partial listing)

2016-                           Common Sense Media
                                       Advisory Board

2016-                           Boston Children’s Museum
                                       Advisory Board

2015 -present          Society for Responsible Robotics
                                       Executive Board                                   

2015                            Steering Committee, World Economic Forum ("New Media and its Impact on the Individual and Society") 

2014 -present          Technographies
                                       Advisory Board  

(University of Cambridge series exploring interactions of technology and writing, to be published in open-access form by Open Humanities Press.)

2013                            Participated in an audiovisual piece that became part of the permanent exhibit inaugurating the new headquarters of the Mobile World Capital - Barcelona (Spain). 

2012 -present          Sgrouples
                                       Advisory Board  

2012 -present           Citizen Schools
                                        National Science and Technology Advisory Committee  

2011-present            Electronic Privacy Information Center (EPIC)
                                        Advisory Board 

2009-present            Philosophy and Technology
                                         Advisory Scientific Board

2007-2012              Bulletin of Science, Technology & Society
                                          Editorial Board

2007-present              The Public Eye
                                           Editorial Board

2000-present              The International Academy of Digital Arts and Sciences

2000-2004                MacArthur Foundation
                                           Committee on Information Technology 

1995-present                Massachusetts Women's Forum

1994-present                Science, Technology, and Human Values
                                            Editorial Advisory Board