Building 5-122
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge MA 02139-4307

tel. 617.253.2850
fax. 617.258.8792

Programs and Services

Teaching Orientation Workshops for Graduate TAs

Schools and departments organize orientation workshops for new graduate teaching assistants.  In addition, TLL is also available to assist individual departments with their own orientation program.

Fall 2012 TA Orientation Calendar & Contact Information (This page is updated as session schedules are confirmed during summer 2012)

School of Architecture and Planning

ARCHITECTURE - Date/time/loc TBD - contact Cynthia Stewart (stewart@MIT.EDU)

URBAN STUDIES AND PLANNING - Date/time/loc TBD - contact Madhu Chhanda Dutta-Koehler (mduttak@MIT.EDU)

School of Engineering (for All TAs in SoE) - Friday, August 31st, 9:00 a.m. - 12:00 noon., loc: 3-270 - contact Leann Dobranski, x3-3373 (leann@MIT.EDU)

EECS - Date/time/loc TBD: contact Professor Denny Freeman (freeman@MIT.EDU)

School of Science

CHEMISTRY - Tuesday, August 30th - Friday, September 2nd, Times and locations vary - contact Melinda Cerny, x3-0909 (cerny@MIT.EDU)

BIOLOGY -Date/time/loc TBD: - contact Janice Chang, x3-7344 (jdchang@mit.edu)

BRAIN & COGNITIVE SCIENCE - Date/time/loc TBD:: TBD- contact Denise Heintze, x3-5741 (heintze@MIT.EDU)

EARTH, ATMOSPHERIC, & PLANETARY SCIENCES (EAPS) - Date/time/loc TBD - contact Vicki McKenna, x3-3380 (vsm@mit.edu)

MATHEMATICS - Microteaching Workshops at the end of semesters and prior to start of fall semesters - contact Michel Behrens, x3-4380 (behrens@MATH.MIT.EDU). Further information available at: (http://www-math.mit.edu/academics/grad/timeline/training.html)

Sloan School of Management - - Date/time/loc TBD, contact Tara Walor, x3-0559, (twalor@mit.edu)

School of Humanities, Arts, & Social Science (SHASS)

ECONOMICS - Date/time/loc TBD - contact Gary King, x3-0951 (gking@MIT.EDU)

LINGUISTICS (Training specifically for 24.900 TAs) - Date/time/loc TBD - contact Adam Albright, x2-1472 (albright@MIT.EDU)

PHILOSOPHY -

Date/time/loc TBD: Philosophy Department Lounge: "Introduction to Philosophy TAing "facilitated by Lori Breslow, Director of MIT’s Teaching and Learning Lab.

Date/time/loc TBD, location: TBD: "Leading Effective Recitation Sections"; facilitated by Suzane Lane, Associate Director of Training for MIT’s Writing Across the Curriculum.

contact Daniel Scott Hagen to reserve a space, x3-3371 (hagend@MIT.EDU)

POLITICAL SCIENCE

Date/time/loc TBD: TBD:"Orientation to teaching HASS recitations"; facilitated by Lori Breslow, Director of MIT’s Teaching and Learning Lab.

Date/time/loc TBD, location: TBD: "Evaluating students’ writing assignments"; facilitated by Suzane Lane, Associate Director of Training for MIT’s Writing Across the Curriculum.

TAs from other SHASS departments are invited to attend the above sessions hosted by Political Science- contact Leann Dobranski to reserve a seat, x3-3371 (leann@MIT.EDU)

HASTS (History, Anthropology, and Science, Technology, and Society) - Date/time/loc TBD: - contact Karen Gardner, x3-9759, (kgardner@MIT.EDU)

 

 

Back to Top
 
About TLL Programs and Services Assessment and Evaluation Teaching Materials Research Education Innovation TLL Library