MIT Writing Requirement


The Committee is composed of faculty members from all parts of MIT, student representatives, and members of the MIT Administration.


1997-98 Committee on the Writing Requirement

      Prof. Winston Markey Chair
      Dean for Undergraduate Curriculum Kip V. Hodges Ex Officio
      Prof. James Paradis Ex Officio
      Prof. Heather C. Richardson (1998)
      Prof. Joanne Yates (1998)
      Prof. James Buzard (1999)
      Prof. Deborah K. Fitzgerald (2000)
      Prof. John Van Maanen (2000)
      Ms. Wendy Cheng (Class of 1998)
      Mr. David Hsu (Class of 1998)
      Ms. Jane Dunphy Guest Member
      Prof. Langley Keyes, Jr. Guest Member
      Prof. Ronald M. Latanison Guest Member
      Dean Leslie C. Perelman Director of the Writing Requirement

The Committee on the Writing Requirement awards the Parke A. ('27) and Ann L. Hodges Writing Prizes for outstanding Phase Two Papers and for the outstanding Freshman Essay Evaluation essay. For information on these prizes, each of which includes a cash award, contact the Writing Requirement Office.

In addition, students can compete for any of several annual Writing Prizes awarded by the Program in Writing and Humanistic Studies.

| Home | About the MIT Writing Requirement | References and Resources | Index of Site Topics |
| Frequently Asked Questions | Deadlines | Phase One | Phase Two | Petitions |


Last modified December 9, 1997