The UEA is a group of undergraduates interested in economics who meet for the purpose of supporting academic endeavors, improving employment opportunities, and extending networks with each other and the outside world.

Article I
Section 1. The name of the organization defined by this Constitution shall be the Massachusetts Institute of Technology Undergraduate Economics Association, hereafter abbreviated UEA.
Section 2. The purpose of the UEA is to aid MIT undergraduate students interested in economics by promoting professional interest in economics as an academic discipline, by stimulating social contact among the undergraduate economics majors, and by acting as a liaison between the Department of Economics and undergraduate economics majors.

Article II
Section 1. All students at MIT interested in economics are eligible to become members. Students are asked to complete a Profile form to become official members.
Section 2. The UEA will not discriminate based on any characteristic listed in MIT's Non-Discrimination Statement.

Article III
Section 1. Any member in good standing subject to the By-Laws of the UEA is qualified to become an officer of the UEA.
Section 2. All officers of the UEA must be distinct persons.
Section 3. The President will be elected on one preferential ballot. In case of a tie, the outgoing President will cast the deciding vote. Members will elect a Vice-President on a second preferential ballot. The just-elected President will cast the tie-breaking vote if necessary. The Treasurer will be elected on a third preferential ballot. The Secretary will be elected on a fourth preferential ballot. In case of a tie, the newly-elected President will cast the tie-breaking vote. The four members so elected shall be the officers of the UEA.
Section 4. The term of office for all officers shall be one year.
Section 5. Any officer can be impeached if a motion to impeach is presented at a meeting of the MIT UEA. At the subsequent meeting of the UEA, all members having been notified in advance of the motion to impeach, he is convicted by a two-thirds vote of the members present.
Section 6. The Executive Committee of the UEA shall consist of the four officers and the chairman of the Standing Committees.
Section 7. Standing Committees of the UEA shall be defined in the By-Laws.

Article IV
Section 1. There must be at least two meetings of the UEA in each academic term.
Section 2. All members shall be given proper notification of meetings of the UEA.
Section 3. One of the first meetings of the spring academic term shall be for the nomination and election of officers.
Section 4. All decisions shall be made by a majority vote of all members present.
Section 5. A quorum of five UEA participants must be present at a meeting for policy decisions to be made.

Article V
Section 1. Amendments to this Constitution may be introduced by a member of the UEA at a meeting of the UEA. All members of the UEA must be notified of the proposed amendment prior to the subsequent meeting of the UEA, at which a two-thirds vote of the members present in favor of the amendment will ratify the amendment.
Section 2. The UEA agrees to abide by the rules and regulations of the Association of Student Activities, and its executive board. This constitution, amendments to it, and the by-laws of the UEA shall be subject to review by the Association of Student Activities Executive Board to insure that they are in accordance with the aforementioned rules and regulations.


I. Duties and Powers of the Officers
The President of the MIT UEA presides over all meetings of the MIT UEA and has general executive responsibility for all functions of the organization. The President, within one month of election, must sign the copy of this constitution and By-Laws on file with the Association of Student Activities. The President must also insure that the copy of the constitution and By-Laws files with the Association of Student Activities is current and must submit copies of any amendments to the Association of Student Activities. In addition, the President is the Chairman of the Executive Committee.
The Vice-President of the MIT UEA presides over meetings of the UEA in the absence of the President. He also is an ex-officio member of all committees.
The Treasurer of the MIT UEA must submit to the Finance Board all such financial records as the Finance Board may request.
The Secretary of the MIT UEA is responsible for recording minutes of meetings of the UEA and distributing minutes to the members, for UEA correspondence, and for other secretarial duties. He/she must report, within one month after election, to the Association of Student Activities the full list of new officers and their addresses. The Secretary is also responsible for seeing that the members are properly notified of each meeting of the UEA, such notification to include amendments to the constitution and pending changes in the officers.
The officers of the UEA will appoint the chairmen of the standing and ad hoc committees.

II. Committees
The following Standing Committees are hereby defined:
A Career committee responsible for developing career services to the members of the UEA;
An Editorial committee responsible for publishing written work of members of the UEA;
An Events Committee responsible for initiating events which promote social contact among UEA members;
Ad Hoc Committees may be appointed by the President as the need arises.

III. Vacancies of Office
A vacancy of office exists whenever an elected officer is impeached successfully, resigns, or loses membership of the UEA.
If the office of President is vacant, the Vice-President succeeds for the completion of the term of office.
If both the office of President and Vice-President are simultaneously vacant, the Treasurer succeeds to the office of President. If vacancies exist in the offices of Treasurer or of Secretary or both, elections are to be held at the first meeting after the vacancy(s) become known.

IV. Finances
A financial statement must be submitted to the UEA by the Treasurer at the last meeting of each term and approved before being given to the Finance Board.
There will be no dues.