Undergraduate Women in Physics


Faculty dinners

UWIP's primary social events are faculty dinners. Faculty we've had the pleasure of dining with include Jan Egedal, Nergis Mavalvala, Alan Guth, Scott Hughes, Allan Adams, Nuh Gedik, Martin Zwierlein, Krishna Rajagopal, Jocelyn Monroe, Ed Bertschinger, Barton Zwiebach, Joe Formaggio, Janet Conrad, John McGreevy, Robert Jaffe, Max Tegmark, Enectali Figueroa, Peter Dourmashkin, Jesse Thaler, Eddie Farhi, Peter Fisher, Pablo Jarillo-Herrero, John Belcher, Alex van Oudenaarden, David Pritchard, and Deepto Chakrabarty.

Upcoming events

Past events

Cambridge Science Festival: Celebrating Einstein - Einstein in the Classroom

Date: Feb-March, 2015

Location: Middle and high schools in the greater Boston area

"Celebrating Einstein" is a series of events and activities taking place before and during the 2015 Cambridge Science Festival to mark the 100th anniversary of Albert Einstein's general theory of relativity, his greatest scientific legacy.

As part of the program’s educational outreach component, we are proud to participate in Einstein in the Classroom. Engaging with a number of middle and high schools in the greater Boston area, local physics students, post docs, and professors culled from local universities and colleges will offering physics activities in various classrooms between February and March 2015 covering relativity, spacetime curvature, the life cycles of stars, the relative sizes of the objects that occupy the observable universe!

3rd Annual PhysEx - Physics Exploration Day

Date and time: Saturday, April 11, 2015, 10:00AM-5:00PM

Location: PCR

UWIP hosted its 3rd annual outreach event for high school students in grades 9-12, an opportunity for students to learn what it means to be a physicist and what it is like to study at MIT. High school students also have a unique opportunity to tour MIT physics labs, hear talks from MIT faculty and graduate students, and participate in exciting physics-related activities. UWIP members share advice about college, life, and physics - as well as delicious LN2 ice cream - with the participants!

Learn more about the program and how you can join, or help out if you are an MIT student, HERE.

MIT-Draper Laboratory Science on Saturday

Date and time: Saturday, Feb 7, 2015, 10:00 AM-11:00 AM

Location: MIT Kresge Auditorium (48 Massachusetts Avenue, Cambridge, MA 02139)

What laws of physics are behind how rockets work, or how lightning bolts work? Would you like to see those demonstrated on stage?

Science on Saturday is a free 60-minute presentation with lots of fun demonstrations in which students can volunteer. It is free and open to all elementary, middle, and high school students, as well as their parents and teachers. Hands-on activity booths are available to students after the show. No pre-registration is required, but seating is limited - first come, first seated. Parental/adult escort is required for all children under 12.

PhysEx: Physics Exploration Day for Girls

Date and time: Sunday, Apr 6, 2014, 10:00 AM-4:00 PM

Location: PCR

Charles at PhysEx

PhysEx is an opportunity for high school girls (and guys!) to learn about becoming a physicist. Students will have the chance to see the in’s-and-out’s of the life of a female, physics major at MIT.

You can learn more about PhysEx here.

Women in Academia Panel

Date and time: Wednesday, Oct 16, 2013, 5:00-6:45 PM

Location: 10-250

Women in Academia Panel Banner

Listen to Professors Susan Hockfield, Barbara Liskov, Paola Cappellaro and Molly Potter share their insights on women in academia.

Undergraduate Women in Physics presents an interdisciplinary panel of MIT leaders, held in honor of Professor Dresselhaus's contributions to women and junior faculty. The panel will be moderated by Prof. Edmund Bertschinger, the institute Community and Equity Chair.

This is the chance to have your questions answered by distinguished women faculty at MIT. A reception with the panelists will follow the discussion and Q&A session.