Group Composition


Principal Investigator

Krystyn J. Van Vliet
Thomas Lord Assistant Professor of Materials Science & Engineering
Jointly Appointed in Biological Engineering
krystyn at mit dot edu
Ph: 617.253.3315
Fx: 617.253.8745
Office: 8-237

Graduate Students

Irene Chou Chen

PhD Candidate, Year 3. ChemE
Co-advised by Prof. Paula Hammond, ChemE

Hansohl Cho

PhD Candidate, Year 3. ME

Sezen Curgul

PhD Candidate, Year 6. PPST/DMSE
Co-advised by Prof. Greg Rutledge, ChemE
Supported by: DuPont-MIT Alliance
Ilke Kalcioglu

PhD Candidate, Year 4. DMSE
Supported by:Schlumberger

Ranjani Krishnan

PhD Candidate, Year 4. BE
Co-advised by Prof. Doug Lauffenburger, BE
Supported by the Collamore-Rogers Fellowship

John Maloney

PhD Candidate, Year 4. DMSE
Co-advised by Prof. Robert Langer, ChemE
Supported by the NIH Biomechanics Training Grant the Collamore-Rogers Fellowship
Emily Walton PhD Candidate, Year 6. DMSE
Supported by: NDSEG
Adam Zeiger PhD Candidate, Year 3. DMSE
Supported by: NDSEG
Postdoctoral Associates
Mukul Kabir

PhD, S. N. Bose National Center for Basic Sciences
Supported by SKF

Meng Qu

Ph.D., Stony Brook University, Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Fei Deng

Qing Ji

Ph.D., Institute of Chemistry, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Karen Stewart

Ph.D., University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, Department of Chemistry

Anna Jagielska

Ph.D., University of Warsaw, Poland, Department of Chemistry
Funding: Human Frontier Science Program


Craig Hovey CMSE RET

Undergraduate Students

James Dahlman CMSE REU
Wing Yee Lau NSF REU
John Oliverio Summer Researcher
Staff Ayn Inserto Room 4-132, 77 Mass. Ave., MIT
Ph: 617.253.6819
M: 8 AM - 2 PM
T: 8 AM - 2 PM
R: 8 AM - 2 PM

click here for pictures from the latest group outing

or here for vintage Van Vliet group photos

Van Vliet group, Summer 2007




Position in Group

Current Affiliation

Yemisi Afere

NSF REU, Summer 2005

Technician, Johns Hopkins University

Patrick Barragan UROP, 2004 undergraduate, MIT
Christopher Bruce DMSE Senior Thesis
Georgios Constantinides Postdoctoral Associate, 2006-2007 University of Cyprus
Ted Feldman NSF REU, Summer 2006 unknown
Doria Holbrook UROP, 2005 undergraduate, MIT
Tim Lau MS student, 2005-2007 PhD candidate, MIT DMSE
Jack Milwid MS student, 2005-2007 PhD candidate, MIT DMSE/HST
John Maloney MEng student, 2005-2006 VVgroup graduate student
Dessy Nikova Postdoctoral Associate, 2006-2007 Postdoctoral Associate, Harvard Medical School
Mitsuo Notomi Visiting Scientist, 2005-2006 Meiji University, Japan
Joan Mao MS Graduate Student, 2006-2009
Binu Oommen MS Graduate Student, 2004-2006 Bose
Catherine Roberts

NSF RET, Summer 2005

Somerville High School
Anita Shukla NSF REU, Summer 2004 PhD student, MIT ChemE
Emilio Silva

PhD Student, 2004-2007

Sunyoung Lee

PhD Student, 2003-2009

Catherine Tweedie

PhD Student, 2004-2007

Irene Tobias

DMSE UROP, Summer 2005

MEng student, MIT BE
M. Todd Thompson

PhD student, 2004-2008

Kendall Werts

DMSE UROP, Summer 2005

Jeremy M. Young

ScM, Harvard School of Dental Medicine 2004

Private Practice
Esther Yu

NSF REU, Summer 2005

Adam Zeiger NSF REU, Summer 2006 VVgroup graduate student

© 2009, Van Vliet Group and Massachusetts Institute of Technology: 77 Massachusetts Avenue, Room 8-214; Cambridge, MA 02139 USA