Skip to Navigation
Industry Guide
Industry Guide

Vice President of Research


Maria T. Zuber

The Vice President for Research has overall responsibility for research administration and policy at the Institute. She oversees more than a dozen interdisciplinary research laboratories and centers, including the Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research, the MIT Energy Initiative, the Plasma Science and Fusion Center, the Research Laboratory of Electronics, the Institute for Soldier Nanotechnologies, the Center for Material Science and Engineering, and the Haystack Observatory. The Office of Sponsored Programs, International Scholars Office, and Division of Comparative Medicine, among others, report to the Vice President for Research. The VPR is responsible for research integrity and compliance and plays a central role in research relationships with the federal government.

Room 3-234
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02139-4307

(617) 253-3206 phone
(617) 253-3193 fax


Maria T. Zuber is the Vice President for Research and the E. A. Griswold Professor of Geophysics at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Previously, she served as the Head of the Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences at MIT.

Professor Zuber has been involved with more than half a dozen NASA planetary missions aimed at mapping the Moon, Mars, Mercury, and several asteroids. She is currently the Principal Investigator for NASA's Gravity Recovery and Interior Laboratory (GRAIL) Mission, which is measuring the gravitational field of the Moon in order to reveal its internal structure and thermal history.

She holds a BA in Astronomy and Geology from the University of Pennsylvania and an ScM and PhD in Geophysics from Brown University.

Professor Zuber is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and American Philosophical Society, and is a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Geological Society of America, and the American Geophysical Union, where she served as president of the Planetary Sciences Section.

She has won numerous awards including the MIT James R. Killian Jr. Faculty Achievement Award, NASA's Outstanding Scientific Achievement Medal, Distinguished Public Service Medal, and Outstanding Public Leadership Medal, as well as the American Geophysical Union Harry H. Hess Medal, the Geological Society of America G.K. Gilbert Award, and the American Astronautical Society/Planetary Society Carl Sagan Memorial Award.

In 2004 Professor Zuber served on the Presidential Commission on the Implementation of United States Space Exploration Policy. In 2008 she was named to the USNews/Harvard Kennedy School List of America's Best Leaders and in 2013 President Obama appointed Professor Zuber to the National Science Board.

Additional information about Professor Zuber's research is available at