Search for the 16th MIT President  


On February 16, 2012, Susan Hockfield, the 16th president of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, announced her intention to step down from her position. President Hockfield has served as president since December 2004 and will continue to serve until the next president takes office.

This site is dedicated to offering a voice to all members and friends of the MIT community in the search and to providing information about the selection process.

Thank you for your interest in the search process.


Mr. James A. Champy, ’63, SM ’65
Presidential Search Committee


MIT seal