MIT Center for International Studies
About CIS Programs
Publications
News & Events
Directory

Richard J. Samuels
Director
Ford International Professor of Political Science
617.253.2449
samuels@mit.edu

Stephen Van Evera
Associate Director
Professor of Political Science
617.253.0530
vanevera@mit.edu

John Tirman
Executive Director & Principal Research Scientist
617.253.9861
tirman@mit.edu

Robert Murray
Administrative Officer
617.253.8064
rmurray@mit.edu

Anthony Duggins
Systems Analyst
617.258.7610
adid@mit.edu

Casey Johnson
Coordinator, Fellowships and Workshops
Assistant to the Executive Director
617.258.8552
caseyj@mit.edu

Phiona Lovett
Administrative Assistant
617.253.3848
phiona@mit.edu

Michelle Nhuch
Director of Public Programs
617.253.1965
nhuch@mit.edu

Rebecca Ochoa
Administrative Assistant
617.253.8306
rochoa@mit.edu

Laurie Scheffler
Center Administrator & Assistant to the Director
617.253.3121
lauries@mit.edu

Marie Sénat-André
Financial Assistant
617.258.9743
msenat@mit.edu

Michelle Nhuch
Director of Public Programs
617.253.1965
nhuch@mit.edu

Rebecca Ochoa
Administrative Assistant
617.253.8306
rochoa@mit.edu

Anna Hardman
Co-Chair, Inter-University Committee on International Migration Lecturer of Economics, Tufts University
anna.hardman@tufts.edu

Reed Ueda
Professor of History, Tufts University Co-Chair, Inter-University Committee on International Migration
reed.ueda@tufts.edu

Chappell Lawson
Director
Associate Professor of Political Science
617.253.3524
clawson@mit.edu

April Julich Perez
Associate Director
617.253.8095
ajulich@mit.edu

Richelle Amado
Program Assistant
617.324.3066
ramado@mit.edu

Caroline Fickett
Communications Coordinator
617.258.0385
cfickett@mit.edu

Jeanne Fahey
Administrative Assistant
617.353.3938
jmfahey@mit.edu

Susan Luvisi
Administrative Assistant
617.253.3925
sluvisi@mit.edu

Ben Ross Schneider
Director
Professor of Political Science
617.253.7207
brs@mit.edu

Rosabelli Coelho-Keyssar
Program Manager
617.258.6007
rlck@mit.edu

Arnoldo Hax
Co-Director
Professor of Management
617.253.4930
ahax@mit.edu

Sean Gilbert
Managing Director
617.253.5068
seang@mit.edu

Suzanne Berger
Director
Professor of Political Science
617.253.6640
szberger@mit.edu

Molly Schneider
Managing Director
617.253.8813
molly_s@mit.edu

Markus Buehler
Director, Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering
617.452.2750

Erin Schenck
Managing Director
617.324.2153
eschenck@mit.edu

S.P. Kothari
Director
Deputy Dean, Sloan School of Management
Gordon Y Billard Professor of Management
617.253.0994
kothari@mit.edu

Melanie Mala Ghosh
Program Manager
617.258.5917
mghosh@mit.edu

Christine Ortiz
Director
Associate Professor, Material Science and Engineering
617.452.3084
cortiz@mit.edu

David Dolev
Managing Director
617.324.5581
ddolev@mit.edu

Carlo Ratti
Co-Director
Associate Professor of Urban Studies and Planning
617.253.7926
ratti@media.mit.edu

Serenella Sferza
Co-Director
617.452.2693
ssferza@mit.edu

Richard Samuels
Director
Ford International Professor of Political Science
617.253.2449
samuels@mit.edu

Thomas Blackwood
Program Manager
617.258.8208
thomas_b@mit.edu

Jung-Hoon Chun
Director
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
617.253.1759
jchun@mit.edu

Matt Burt
Program Manager
617.324.8466 
mburt@mit.edu

Michael Piore
Director
David W. Skinner Professor of Political Economy and
Associate Director of the Center for Technology Policy and Industrial Development
617.253.3377
mpiore@mit.edu

Griselda Gomez
Program Manager
617.252.1483
gomezg@mit.edu

David Gamarnik
Co-Director
Associate Professor of Operations Research
MIT Sloan School of Management
617.253.7779
gamarnik@mit.edu

Elizabeth Wood
Co-Director
Professor of History
617.253.3255
elizwood@mit.edu

Program Manager
617.324.2793

Mercedes Balcells-Camps
Co-Director
617.253.8146
merche@mit.edu

Jaume Peraire
Co-Director
617.253.1981
peraire@mit.edu

Alicia J. Goldstein
Managing Director
617.324.5494
aliciag@mit.edu

Kenneth Oye
Director
Associate Professor of Political Science
617.253.3412
oye@mit.edu

Phiona Lovett
Program Assistant
617.253.3848
phiona@mit.edu

Barry Posen
Director
Professor of Political Science
617.253.8088
posen@mit.edu

Owen Coté, Jr.
Associate Director
Principal Research Scientist
617.253.7428
owencote@mit.edu

Jolie Divon Saraf
Assistant Director, Administrative Assistant to Barry Posen
617.258.7608
joli@mit.edu

James Walsh
Research Associate
617.324.3712
j_walsh@mit.edu

Cindy Williams
Principal Research Scientist
617.253.1825
cindywil@mit.edu

Harlene Miller
Administrative Assistant to Owen Coté, Cindy Williams
617.258.6531
harlenem@mit.edu

Lynne Levine
Administrative Assistant to Profs. Steve Van Evera, Taylor Fravel, Harvey Sapolsky
617.253.0133
llevine@mit.edu

Valerie Thaddeus
Administrative Assistant
617.253.7529
valeriet@mit.edu

Affiliated Faculty:

Taylor Fravel
Assistant Professor of Political Science
617.324.0222
fravel@mit.edu

Daniel Hastings
Professor of Aeronautics and Astronautics
617.253.0906
hastings@mit.edu

David Mindell
Associate Professor, MIT Science, Technology and Society Program
617.253.0221
mindell@mit.edu

Richard J. Samuels
Director, Center for International Studies
Ford International Professor of Political Science
617.253.2449
samuels@mit.edu

Merritt Roe Smith
Leverett and William Cutten Professor of the History of Technology
617.253.4008
roesmith@mit.edu

Stephen W. Van Evera
Associate Director, Center for International Studies
Professor of Political Science
617.253.0530
vanevera@mit.edu

Robert J. Art
Director
Herter Professor of International Relations, Brandeis University
Senior Fellow, MIT Security Studies Program
781.736.2754
art@brandeis.edu

Tisha Gomes
Executive Director
617.258.6862
tishag@mit.edu

Jennifer Anne Kempe
Program Assistant
617.253.5143
jkempe@mit.edu

 

Massachusetts Institute of Technology