Let the nominating begin!
Awards Convocation
« Return home

Awards for Student Organizations


The Compton Prizes are given in memory of Dr. Karl Taylor Compton, President of the Institute from 1930 to 1949 and Chairman of the Corporation from 1949 to 1954. They are the highest awards presented by the Institute to students and student organizations in recognition of excellent achievements in citizenship and devotion to the welfare of MIT. They reflect outstanding contributions to the MIT community as a whole, sustained over a significant number of years.

[2010 Recipients] Michael Bennie '10, Kevin McComber G, Student Information Processing Board

[2009 Recipients] Arjun Naskar ’09, Robert Y Wang G, MIT-EMS


The Stewart Awards are presented in memory of William L. Stewart, Jr., an alumnus and member of the Corporation who demonstrated deep interest in student life at MIT. The Stewart Awards recognize outstanding contributions by an individual student or student organization to extracurricular activities and events during the preceding year.

[2010 Recipients] Zachary Bjornson-Hooper 10, Alex Hamilton Chan G, Keri-Lee Garel '10, David Schultz G

[2009 Recipients] Johnathan Cromwell ’09, Adlai Grayson ’09, Ankur Sinha G, Wendi Xiaowen Zhang ’09, Chinese Scholars Association


The Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Student Art Awards are presented annually to two students (undergraduate or graduate), living groups, organizations or activities for outstanding achievement in and contributions to the arts at MIT. Established by the Council for the Arts at MIT in 1979, these awards honor President Emeritus Jerome Wiesner and Mrs. Wiesner for their commitment to the arts at MIT. An endowment fund provides a $1,000 honorarium to each recipient. NOTE: All nominations for the Laya and Jerome B. Wiesner Student Art Awards should be sent to Susan Cohen, Director, Council for the Arts at MIT, E15-205, cohen@media.mit.edu, by Friday, March 18, 2011. Self-nominations will not be accepted.

[2010 Recipients] David S. Greenberg '11, Visual Arts Program; Sriniwasan Balaji Mani '10, Music; Jess Wheelock G, Visual Arts Program

[2009 Recipients] Samuel Kronick ’10, Simone Ovsey ’10, MIT Salsa Club


Past photo galleries

*  2011 Photos
*  2010 Photos
*  2009 Photos
*  2008 Photos
*  2007 Photos

Past winners

*  2011 Recipients
*  2010 Recipients
*  2009 Recipients
*  2008 Recipients
*  2007 Recipients
*  2006 Recipients
*  2005 Recipients
*  2004 Recipients
*  2003 Recipients
*  2002 Recipients
*  2001 Recipients