skip to content


The Hoyt C. Hottel Lectureship

The Hoyt C. Hottel Lectureship was established in early 1985 to recognize Professor Hottel's contributions to the intellectual climate of the Chemical Engineering Department, to the encouragement of students over six decades, and to the foundation and direction of the Fuels Research Laboratory. The lectureship is intended to draw eminent scholars to MIT - preferably in the fields of combustion and energy technology - for short periods of residency in order to stimulate future generations of students. The inaugural Hottel Lecture was presented in April 1985 by Professor Hottel himself.

The Hottel Legacy
Professor Hottel began his career at MIT in 1924. He served as faculty member from 1928 to 1968. He was Professor of Fuel Engineering, 1941-1965; Director, Fuels Research Laboratory, 1938-1968; Chairman, Solar Energy Research Committee, 1938-1964; Carbon P. Dubbs Professor of Chemical Engineering, 1965-1968. He remained an active member of the Department as Professor Emeritus from 1968 until his death in 1998.

Professor Hottel's record of long-standing interest and achievement was in the area of more effective use of energy. His work spanned over fifty years and focused on better utilization of fossil fuels, with occasional intensive digressions into solar energy. It embraced major contributions to the maturation of industrial furnace and boiler design from an art to a science, to solar heating, and to early identification and study of other energy-related problems. His awards include the United States Medal for Merit, King's Medal (Great Britain), William H. Walker Award (AIChE), Edgerton Gold Medal (Combustion Institute), Melchett Medal (Institute of Fuel, Great Britain), Max Jakob Award (AIChE and ASME), Founders Award (AIChE), Farrington Daniels Award (Royal Society, London), Founders Award (NAE), and the John Fritz Medal (United Engineering Trustees). He was a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Previous Lectures
2015 Professor Avelino Corma, Instituto de Tecnología Química, Universitat Politècnica de València
2014 Professor Arun Majumdar, Stanford University
2013 Professor Emily Carter, Princeton University
2012 Dr. Eric Toone, Principal Deputy Director, ARPA-E, US Dept. of Energy
2012 Nathan S. Lewis, Caltech, Beckman Institute and Kavli Nanoscience Institute
2010 Steven E. Koonin, Under Secretary for Science, US Dept. of Energy
2009 William J. Koros, Georgia Institute of Technology
2008 Vinod Khosla, Founder, Khosla Ventures
2007 Gabor A. Somorjai, University of California, Berkeley 
2006 John Hofmeister, President, Shell Oil Company
2006 Samuel W. Bodman, U.S. Secretary of Energy
2004 Adel F. Sarofim, Reaction Engineering International (MIT Emeritus Professor)
2003 Dr. Charles E. Kolb, Aerodyne Research, Inc.
2002 John H. Seinfeld, California Institute of Technology
2001 Kevin O. Meyers, Phillips Petroleum Company
2000 Meinrad K. Eberle, ETH Zurich
1999 Lanny D. Schmidt, University of Minnesota
1998 James R. Katzer, Mobil Oil Company
1997 Mark E. Davis, California Institute of Technology
1996 Joshua Swithenbank, University of Sheffield, United Kingdom
1995 Klaus-Heinrich Homann, Technische Hochschule Darmstadt, Germany
1994 Alexis T. Bell, University of California, Berkeley
1993 George R. Gavalas, California Institute of Technology
1991 Forman Williams, University of California, San Diego
1990 D. Brian Spalding FRS, Imperial College, London
1989 David M. Golden, SRI International, California
Ian W. Smith, CSIRO, Australia
1988 H.G. Wagner, University of Gottenger, Germany
1987 Felix J. Weinberg, Imperial College, London
1985 Inaugural Lecture Hoyt C. Hottel, MIT