Pathway to Sustainability Leadership by MIT

Incubation, Transformation, and Mobilization

Appendix 1: Campus Sustainability Task Force Members

The Campus Sustainability Task Force was charged with shaping the vision and creating a plan of action for MIT to become a state-of-the-art sustainable campus. We sought feedback from the MIT community via an Idea Bank, meetings with various stakeholder groups, and input from current sustainability working groups and committees. That feedback is reflected in this document.


Andrea Campbell, Department of Political Science
Julie Newman, MIT Office of Sustainability


  • John Fernández, MIT Environmental Solutions Initiative and Department of Architecture
  • Howard Heller, MIT Medical
  • Sara Malconian, Sourcing and Procurement (2011–2016)
  • Maureen McCaffrey, MIT Investment Management Company
  • Francis O’Sullivan, MIT Energy Initiative and Sloan School of Management
  • Christopher Schuh, Department of Materials Science and Engineering
  • Noelle Eckley Selin, Institute for Data, Systems, and Society, and Department of Earth, Atmospheric, and Planetary Sciences
  • John Sterman, Sloan School of Management
  • Dennis Swinford, Office of Campus Planning (2015–2017)
  • Linda Wei Jing ’17; Campus Sustainability Fellow
  • Philip Kreycik SM ’16, MCP ’16