Prof. Munther A. Dahleh


  • Born in Tulkarm, Palestine, which has a tourist page
  • BS in EE, Texas A \&M University (College Station, TX), August 1983.
  • Ph.D in EE, Rice University (Houston, TX), May 1987
  • Assistant Professor in EECS, MIT, 1987-1991
  • Associate Professor in EECS, MIT 1991-1992
  • Visiting Associate Professor, Caltech, 1993
  • Finmeccanica Associate Professor, MIT 1992-1995
  • Associate Professor in EECS, MIT 1995-1998
  • Professor in EECS, MIT 1998-present
  • Consultant at several companies, including:
    • Draper Labs (3 years) Attitude control of the space station, underwater autonomous vehicles.
    • NASA (JSC) (3 years) Attitude control of the space station.
    • FIAT research center (2 years) Modern control, modeling and system identification applied to the design of active suspensions.
    • BBN (2 years) Robust and adaptive control design for active noise cancellation and vibration suppression.
    • Convolve (1 year) Input shaping for control of compact discs.
    • Alphatech (2 years) Infrastructure modeling using multi-agent economic models.
    • Textron Specialty materials
    • Brighams and Women


    • Founder of Crescent Technologies (1996-2000)Supply chain systems for large scale production.
    • Founder of Infolenz Co.(2000-present) Enterprise economic models of markets
    My interests include basketball, swimming, coffee, and political debate.


  • Hugo Schuck Award for Theory (for the paper coauthored with Martins), CSS 2008.
  • George S. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award (with Bamieh and Paganini), IEEE CSS, Dec 2004
  • IEEE Fellow 2000
  • Graduate Council Teaching Award, 1995
  • Donald P. Eckman Award of the American Control Council, 1993
  • Finmeccanica Career Development Chair, 1992
  • Presidential Young Investigator Award, 1991
  • George S. Axelby Outstanding Paper Award (with Pearson), IEEE CSS, Dec 1990
  • Ralph Budd Award For Best Engineering Thesis, Rice Univ., May 1987
  • Graduated Suma Cum Laude, Texas A\&M Univ, Aug 1983
  • Deans Honor Award, Texas A\&M Univ, 1980-1983